Banquet honors Brookhaven Academy athletes

Published 8:00 pm Tuesday, May 7, 2013

WESSON – Brookhaven Academy’s athletes were honored Monday night at the school’s annual athletic banquet. It was held in the Thames Center, located on the Copiah-Lincoln Community College campus.

Brookhaven Academy head football coach Tripp McCarty welcomed the large crowd and thanked them for their support during the 2012-13 school year. A highlight of the evening was the presentation of state championship rings to the 2012 Cougar football team.

McCarty praised his team’s dedication and hard work, especially after a rocky 3-4 start. The Cougars won 8 straight games, beating Marshall Academy 49-40 in the MAIS Class AA State Championship Game, Nov. 23, at Millsaps College’s Harper Davis Stadium

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Most Valuable Player honors went to Gage Posey in football, basketball and baseball, Matthew Evans in basketball, Madison Warren in girls basketball and tennis, Grant Melancon in boys soccer, Will Hickman in boys tennis, Ruth Vaughn in girls soccer and Jacob Ross in golf. Posey was the recipient of the annual Cougar Award, recognizing an outstanding athlete’s performance on and off the field.

BA boys basketball coach Dale Watts gave his farewell speech after 19 years at the helm, winning 7 state tournament titles. He has accepted a similar position at his alma mater, Columbia Academy.

Watts thanked his players, school administrators, parents and fans for their support during his tenure. He received a standing ovation.

Valerie Oglesby recognized the cheerleaders and expressed appreciation for their enthusiastic support of the teams. Other coaches recognizing their teams were Kaylin Lofton, softball; Amanda Upton, girls soccer; Clint Rounsaville, boys soccer; Johnny Lane Ball, track; David Misner, tennis; Casey Edwards, baseball; and Ronny Ross, golf.

Dr. Edward Moak served as master of ceremonies and provided the invocation. He also presented the Cougar Award at the conclusion of the banquet.

Brookhaven Academy Awards

Football: Most Valuable Player-Gage Posey. Most Valuable Offense-Seth rushing. Most Valuable Defense-Colby Culbertson. Most Valuable Back-Matthew Evans, Landon Nettles; Most Valuable Lineman- Travis Thornton. Most Improved Lineman-Cody Thornhill. Most Improved Back-Ross Foreman. Best Teammate-Seth Rushing. Coaches Award-Drew Philipp.

MAIS All-State Team: Colby Culbertson, Matthew Evans, Travis Thornton, Seth Rushing, Gage Posey.

All-District 5-AA: Gage Posey, MVP; Seth Rushing, Matthew Evans, Colby Culbertson, Landon Nettles, Travis Thornton, Preston Rawls, Drew Philipp, Cody Thornhill, Garrett Pace, Tanner Parvin, Will Hickman, Jacob Conley.

Girls Soccer: Leadership Award-Ashley Bardwell. Warrior Award-Harley Smith. Character Award-Saylor Smith. MVP Offense-Kailyn Jordan, Most Improved-Christian Boyte, Most Versatile & MVP-Ruth Vaughn. All-District-Brittany Loftin.

Boys Soccer: MVP-Grant Melancon. Best Defensive Player-Jordan Lea. Best Offensive Player-Zach Thornhill. Cougar Award-Dalton Case. Rookie Award-Lamar Lang. All-District-Grant Melancon, Zach Thornhill, Jordan Lea.

Softball: Rookie of Year-Kailyn Jordan, Anna Grace Covington. Most Improved-Maura Dunaway. Most Hustle-Anna Smith. Best Defensive Player-Allison Livingston. Coaches Award-Taylor Sanford. All-District-Anna Smith, Allison Livingston,Maura Dunaway, Olivia Thornton, Olivia Lofton..

Girls Basketball: Most Valuable Player-Madison Warren. Coaches Award-Mary Claire White. 6th Man Award-Hillary Wilson. Most Improved-Anna Corolla. Most Improved-Marlee Watts. Best Rebounder-Carolina Stewart.

Boys Basketball: Most Valuable Players-Gage Posey, Matthew Evans. Best Offensive Players-Peyton Hood, Zach Smith. Best Defensive Player-Will Hickman. All-District-Gage Posey, Matthew Evans, Peyton Hood, Zac Smith, Will Hickman. All-State-Gage Posey.

Baseball: MVP-Gage Posey. Offensive MVP-Gage Posey. Gold Glove-Tanner Parvin. Mr. Hustle-Carter Culbertson. Coaches Award-Zach Dickerson. Most Improved-Zach Carr. All-District MVP-Tanner Parvin. All-District-Tanner Parvin, Gage Posey, Matthew Evans, Landon Nettles, Steven Williams, Zach Dickerson, Heath Hickman, J.P. Jackson, Alex Smith. All-Star Team: Tanner Parvin, Gage Posey.

Golf: MVP-Jacob Ross. Most Improved-Olivia Ross. Mr. Consistency-Trevor May.