BA’s Posey claims MAIS Souder Award

Published 9:00 pm Sunday, May 12, 2013

Brookhaven Academy’s Gage Posey was recognized Friday night as the 2013 male recipient of the MAIS Don Souder Award. Posey was among the 37 seniors who participated in graduation ceremonies in John R. Gray Gymnasium.

Posey, a 6-foot-3, 185-pound southpaw, has signed a baseball scholarship with the Hinds Community College Eagles. A standout quarterback, he may play football for the Eagles, too.

David Drake, Associate Director of Activities and Athletics and Technology for the Mississippi Association of Independent Schools, made the presentation to Posey. He is the son of Kevin and Rhonda Posey.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In football, Posey quarterbacked Coach Tripp McCarty’s Cougars to an 11-4 record and the Class AA State championship, a thrilling 49-40 win over Marshall Academy. Posey completed 23 of 27 passes for 362 yards and 6 touchdowns in the title game. He also rushed for 45 yards and a TD.

On the season, Posey passed for 3,217 yards and 28 TDs. He rushed for 794 yards and 18 TDs, giving him 46 TDs and over 4,000 yards total offense.

In basketball, Posey averaged a team-high 19 points per game. He also averaged 12 rebounds and 3 assists per game for Coach Dale Watts as the Cougars won the District 5-AA Tournament and finished runners-up in South State.

In baseball, Posey sports a .420 batting average for Coach Casey Edwards, helping lead the Cougars to the district title and the semifinals of the South State playoffs. He hit 5 home runs, drove in 25 runs and stole 10 bases.

He was selected to play in the MAIS All-Star Football, Basketball and Baseball Games.

An exceptional student, Posey maintained a 3.91 GPA in the classroom and achieved a 24 on the ACT. He is a part of the honors courses in English, math and science.

Besides Posey, male finalists for this year’s award were John Luke Watts of Columbia Academy and Walker Stayer of Presbyterian Christian School.

Previous Souder Award winners from Brookhaven Academy were Terah Winborne in 2012, Price Sessums in 2007 and Anna Gatlin in 2003.