Banquet cites Wesson athletes

Published 8:00 pm Sunday, May 26, 2013

WESSON – Hanna Brown and Kaleb Skinner received the Cobra Award at Wesson’s Spring Sports Banquet. Other special awards went to Macie McQuage and Cullen Greer, the Dennis White Award; and Hannah McCormick and Brandon Nettles, Scholastic Award.

Wesson’s Region 6-2A softball. baseball and tennis champions received special praise from the school’s administrators for their accomplishments. In softball, Macie McQuage was recognized as Most Valuable Player. Bailey Warren was named MVP in baseball

In soccer, Lindsey Day and Brandon Nettles received MVP awards.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In boys basketball, Terry Brown was chosen MVP. In girls basketball, Azariah Smith was named MVP on defense and Brandi McInnis MVP on offense.

Wesson Athletic Awards

Scholastic Award: Hannah McCormick and Brandon Nettles

Dennis White Award: Macie McQuage and Cullen Greer

Cobra Award: Hanna Brown and Kaleb Skinner

Dance Team: Libby Knight – Most Improved; Azaria Smith – Senior Award, Dancer of the Year and Leadership Award; Anna Speights – 110% Award; Brittany Moore – Heart of a Champion Award. Lindsey Alford – Rookie of the Year.

Boys Basketball: Koy McFarland – Senior Award, Coaches Award; Kaleb Skinner – Senior Award, All-District, MVP Defense & Mr. Hustle Award; Eddie McCullum – Senior Award, All-District & MVP Offense; Terry Brown – Senior Award, All-District Player of the Year & MVP. Mack Smith – Most Improved; Dartavious Dixon – Most Improved; Cullen Greer – Senior Award & Coaches Award; Patrick Lumley – Senior Award & Mr. Consistent; Farrod Green – All-District & Most Versatile.

Girls Basketball: Hannah McCormick – Senior Award, All-District & Heart and Soul Award; Azaria Smith – Senior Award, All-District, MVP Defense & Free Throw Award; Kayla Britt – Hustle Award. Jashia Smith – Most Improved; Brandi McInnis – All-District & MVP Offense. Blaire Jenkins – Senior Award; Taylor Smith – Senior Award; Madison Coleman – Coaches Award.

Fastpitch Softball: Macie McQuage – Senior Award, All-District, Best Offensive & MVP; Sarah Robinson – All-District, MAC Fastpitch All-Star, Best Defensive; Bailey Middleton – Most Improved; Ashton Newman – Senior Award & Coaches Award; Taylor Smith – Senior Award & All-District; Abbey Smith – Senior Award, All-District & MVP; Kayla Britt – All-District & Most Versatile; Hanna Brown – Senior Award, All-District & Hustle Award.

Baseball: Brandon Nettles – Senior Award and Coaches Award; Quentin Munn – Senior Award, Best Defensive Player & All-District; Kaleb Skinner – Senior Award, Most Versatile & All-District; Koy McFarland – Senior Award & Most Improved. Jase Alexander – All-District; Alex Smith – Senior Award, All-District, Most Dedicated, Team Captain & MVP; Bailey Warren – All-District & MVP; Cullen Greer – Senior Award, All-District, Best Offensive Player & Team Captain; Eddie McCullum – Senior Award. Taylor Roberts – Senior Award.

Girl Soccer: Moniqca Whipple – Senior Award & Character Award; Kylee Morgan – All-District & Best Defensive Player; Vanesha Harris – Senior Award, All-District & Best Offensive Player. Marta Collado – Best New-Comer; Samanta Garduno – Spirit Award; Brooklyn Twiner – Spirit Award. Lindsey Day – All-District MVP Defensive Player & MVP; Calah Channell – Leadership Award; Hannah Johnson – Most Improved.

Boy Soccer: – Eric McElveen – Most Improved; Austin Levison – Senior Award, All-District & Best Hustle; Brandon Nettles – Senior Award, All-District, Best Offensive & MVP. Steve Del Cid – Senior Award; Konner Stevens – Best Defensive. Quinton Lindsey – Senior Award; Michael Townsend – Senior Award.

Golf: Koy McFarland – Senior Award; Conner Lowery – Most Improved; Quentin Munn – Senior Award & MVP; Austin Crow – Most Improved.

Tennis: Ludwig Kraut – All-District & Most Improved; CJ Viramontez – Most Team Spirit & All District; Austin Levison – Senior Award, Most Hustle & All District. Brandon Nettles – Senior Award, MVP & All-District; Taylor Beasley – Senior Award & All-District; Brandi McInnis – MVP & All-District; Steve Del Cid – Senior Award & All-District. Charley Beth Douglas – Senior Award; Chandler Dennis – Senior Award; Dylan Ingle – Rookie of the Year.