Daily Leader wins honors from Press Assn.

Published 7:00 pm Tuesday, June 25, 2013

     BILOXI – The DAILY LEADER news staff captured 10 awards, including two first-place honors, during the Mississippi Press Association’s 2012 Better Newspaper Contest Awards ceremony Saturday.

     Among the first-place awards, the newspaper was honored for best magazine periodical for FOCUS 2012.

     “Enjoyed reading community profiles/Fab 5,” the judges commented. “Great photos throughout. Stories easy to read. Great layout – good balance between advertising and editorial.”

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

     Also receiving a first-place award was the 2012 Brides edition, which was recognized for best special section. The edition was edited by former lifestyles editor Tammy Brewer.

     “Very informative without covering the typical bride topics in an expected way,” the judges said. “Great photos and layout. A new spin on the bridal issue.”

     The Daily Leader also received five second-place awards. Sports editor Tom Goetz received recognition in the best sports page or section category.

       Earning recognition in the best spot news story competition was former news reporter Caleb Bedillion for a story titled “Clerk’s race qualifying blunder avoided.”

     Bedillion also won a second place in the best feature photograph contest for a local spray park picture.

     Sports photographer Jonathon Alford received a second-place award in the best sports action photograph competition.

     Second-place honors also went to former managing editor Matt Coleman, who was recognized in the best editorials category.

     Third-place honors went to The Daily Leader for best design; to Coleman, for best editorial page; and to former Lifestyles Editor Tammie Brewer, for best lifestyles page or section.

     The DAILY LEADER competed in the Daily Division C category for Mississippi newspapers with circulation under 9,000.

     The awards were presented during the 145th annual Mississippi Press Association Convention in Biloxi.