Norwood Cup competition slated for Saturday, Sunday

Published 2:00 pm Tuesday, September 17, 2013

The Fifth Annual Norwood Cup Championship tees off this weekend, featuring the top 20 players from the Brookhaven Country Club and the Wolf Hollow Golf Club in Wesson. Twenty-seven holes of action are set for Saturday at BCC, featuring an alternate shot 9-hole format Saturday morning; followed by 18 holes of 4-ball competition in the afternoon.

On Sunday, an 18-hole individual match is scheduled, starting at 1 p.m. at Wolf Hollow. Team captains of this year’s prestigious event are Keith McGowen for the BCC and Ryan Case for Wolf Hollow.

The Cup is named in honor of Ed Norwood, a longtime employee and promoter of golf at both clubs. Wolf Hollow holds a 3-1 lead in the series.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Representing Brookhaven’s team are Kent Allen, Con Coleman Bill Pullen, Cody Jordan, Steve Yawn, Stephen Bozeman, Clint Estes, Darrin Hirsch, Michsel Gates, Tye Ferguson, Jeff Henning, Chris Nations, John Ratcliff, Mark Smith, Glynn Murray, George Hennington, Josh Simmons, Trent Maddox, Sha Walker and Jeff Wilson.

Representing Wolf Hollow’s team are Dwayne Wooten, Chuck Holloway, Ronny Ross, Chris Lofton, Ricky McInnis, Paxton Lee, Ryan Case, Will Lee, Brock Campbell, Tony McInnis, John Clark, Charles Davis, Alex Shoemake, Greg Garvin, Rusty Crawford, Jonathan Kelly, Lannie Staten, Alan Coleman, Johnny Walton and Winston Lott.