Primary election results certified: No changes in winners; run-offs will be Aug. 25

Published 10:23 am Friday, August 14, 2015

Certified election results for Lincoln County were released Thursday by the Secretary of State’s office, and there were no surprises.

The county will see two positions in a run-off on Aug. 25: District 2 supervisor and District 5 supervisor.  Don Smith and Bobby J. Watts will face off for District 2, and Donald E. Case and Doug Falvey will battle for District 5. Run-offs occur when no candidate receives at least one vote over 50 percent. In those situations, the top two candidates move on to the run-off.

Watts won the most votes in District 2, but only received 44 percent of the votes. Smith was just behind with 29 percent.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Falvey received the most votes, but only 41 percent. Donald E. Case followed with 31 percent.

The primary election determined the Constable Post 1 position with Kelly Porter winning with 67 percent. No one qualified for the position on the Democratic ticket.

Senate District 39 includes four counties: Lincoln, Lawrence, Copiah and Walthall. As of press time, Lincoln is the only county that has certified results on the Secretary of State’s website.

In Lincoln, incumbent Sally Doty won the Republican primary with 58 percent of the vote. Michael Smith ran unopposed in the Democratic primary.

Democratic primary winners

• District 2 Supervisor — Jerry McGehee with 53 percent

• District 5 Supervisor — Gary Walker with 73 percent

Republican primary winners

• Tax Assessor/Collector — Blake Pickering with 52 percent

• District 3 Supervisor — Jamie Gatlin with 75 percent

• Constable Post 2 — Kirby Ebbers with 53 percent

Candidates that did not face 

primary opposition

• Carl Brown (D) for Justice Court Judge Post 2

• Jason Case (R) for superintendent

• Rita Goss (D) for Tax Assessor/Collector

• John Wayne Leggett (D) for Sheriff

• Vince Mangold (R) for State House of Representatives District 53

• Roger Martin (R) for Justice Court Judge Post 2

• Bobby Moak (D) for State House of Representatives District 53

• Mickey Myers (D) for Superintendent

• Steve Rushing (R) for Sheriff

• Nolan Earl Williamson (D) for District 3 Supervisor

Candidates who faced no challenger include:

• Dustin R. Bairfield (R) for Circuit Clerk

• Tillmon Bishop (R) for Chancery Clerk

• Joe W. Byrd (D) for Surveyor

• C.E. “Eddie” Brown (R) for District 4 Supervisor

• Becky Currie (R) for State House of Representatives District 92

• Clay McMorris (R) for Coroner

• Joe Portrey (R) for Justice Court Judge Post 1

• Jerry L. Wilson (D) for District 1 Supervisor