MSA welcomes new principal: Brookhaven resident brings 20 years of experience to table

Published 10:31 am Thursday, October 1, 2015

The Mississippi School of the Arts recently announced the appointment of Debra Henderson Price of Brookhaven as its new principal effective Oct. 19.

Price comes to MSA with more than 20 years of experience as an educator and administrator. She has a Bachelor of Science and Master of Education in special education, Master of Education in school psychometrics and an Education Specialists in educational leadership. 1001_Debra H. Price (1)

Price has worked with MSA as a residence life counselor part-time for more than a year. She has served as assistant principal at Brookhaven High School since 2006. Since 1995, she has also served in roles that include special education teacher, psychometrist and behavioral specialist. School districts she has worked for include Brookhaven School District, Lincoln County School District, Copiah County School District and Mobile County School District in Alabama.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“I am very excited and honored to be a part of the MSA Family,” Price said. “I will miss my BHS [family], and I pray that they continue to have a smooth year as I also pray for a smooth transition into my new position — and that we too at MSA continue to have a great year.”

The principal position has been open since July 31.

“I am excited about welcoming Debra to our MSA family full-time and am thrilled to have someone with the wealth of experience and knowledge she brings to the position,” said Suzanne Hirsch, executive director.

Price is married to Perry Price. She is the mother of three children, Desmond Jr., Cherish and Joseph, who are artists in their own right. She has served as a mentor for students at MSA over the years. She is a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, a former member of the board of directors for the Lincoln County United Way, a former member of the Lincoln County Arts Council and a past participant of the Competitive Community Program.