MHSAA division changes will affect some area schools

Published 11:08 am Friday, November 18, 2016

The Mississippi High School Activities Association on Thursday announced the divisions for reclassification, and a few local teams will see changes for the next two years.

Bogue Chitto is moving into Region 7 of Class 2A. The school was previously in Region 4 of 1A. The move puts Bogue Chitto in the same region as county rivals Enterprise, Loyd Star and West Lincoln. Amite County rounds out the region. With five schools in the region, only one will fail to make the playoffs.

In Class 4A, Lawrence County will move to Region 7 from Region 6. The other schools in the region are Forrest County AHS, Greene County, Poplarville, Purvis and Sumrall. The Cougars are the only new team to the region. 

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Lawrence County will no longer play in the same region as McComb and South Pike.

North Pike moved from Region 6 of 4A to Region 3-5A, where they will now face Brookhaven in region play. Forest Hill also joins the group after dropping down from 6A.

In 3A, Hazlehurst and Franklin County remain in Region 7, along with Jefferson County, Port Gibson and Wilkinson County. Wesson is moving to Region 8 from Region 7.

Wesson joins Columbia, which moved down from 4A, Seminary, Tylertown, West Marion and Jefferson Davis County, which was formerly Bassfield and Prentiss.