Three Democrats, one Republican added to Brookhaven candidates’ list; four announce intent for Wesson seats

Published 7:09 am Sunday, January 29, 2017

Four candidates have qualified as independents to hold office in Wesson, while four more Brookhaven residents have qualified to join the growing list of candidates running there.

In Wesson, candidates include incumbents John Welter for Ward 2, Billy Ellison for Ward 3 and Ric Crockett for alderman-at-large. Welter will see opposition from at least one other candidate so far, since Jarrad Ashley threw his hat into the Wesson ring.

In Brookhaven, four more candidates have recently qualified for office. They include Democrats Dorsey Cameron of Furr Avenue, Ward 1; Vernastine Byrd of East Cherokee Street, Ward 2; and David Holloway of South Railroad Avenue, Ward 3. They’re joined by Republican John Roberts Jr. of South Jackson Street, Ward 4.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

They join 13 other residents who signed statements of intent to run for office, which include:


Joe Cox, inc. — Republican

Ward 1

Elisa Corley Jr. — Democrat

Ward 2

Danny Chatman — Democrat

Ward 3

Mary H. Wilson, inc. — Democrat

Ward 4

Jason Snider — Republican

Rusty Yates — Republican

Ward 5

Fletcher Grice, inc. — Republican

Ward 6

Andre D. Spiller — Democrat

Shelley M. Harrigill — independent


Karen Sullivan, inc. — Republican

Police Chief

Bobby Bell, inc. — Democrat

Brookhaven Ward 1 Alderman Randy Belcher — Democrat

BPD Lt. Kenneth Collins —Democrat

Individuals can submit their statement of intent at the Brookhaven City Clerk’s office through 5 p.m. March 3. Wesson candidates submit theirs to Wesson City Hall. It’s a $10 fee if an individual is running as a Republican or Democrat, which goes to the party. Those planning to run as independent must gather the signatures of 50 registered voters within the city limits. If the application is for an alderman seat, the signatures must come from the ward in which the candidate lives.

The primary election is May 2. If no one gets 50 percent of the vote plus one, there will be a runoff election, which will be May 16.

If there is a runoff, voters must stick with whatever party they voted in the primary. The general election is June 6. It will include the party primary winners and any independent candidates. Residents can register to vote in the municipal election up to 30 days prior to the election. That can be done in the Lincoln County Circuit Clerk’s office during business hours, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. or at the Brookhaven City Clerk’s office on Saturday, April 1, from 8 a.m. to noon.

Copiah County residents must register at the Copiah County Circuit Clerk’s office. Voter IDs can be obtained at either circuit clerk’s office.