Incumbent mayor to see challenger

Published 1:08 pm Friday, March 3, 2017

A Democratic contender for Brookhaven mayor has stepped forward to run against the Republican incumbent in the upcoming municipal elections.

David D. Smith of Adams Street qualified Thursday for the mayor’s seat, which is held by Joe Cox. Cox qualified Jan. 3. Today at 5 p.m. is the deadline for candidates to submit qualifying statements of intent to run in either the Democrat or Republican parties or as an independent.

Individuals can qualify at the Brookhaven City Clerk’s office. In Wesson, candidates submit theirs to Wesson City Hall. It’s a $10 fee if an individual is running as a Republican or Democrat, which goes to the party. Those planning to run as independent must gather the signatures of 50 registered voters within the city limits. If the application is for an alderman seat, the signatures must come from the ward in which the candidate lives.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Others who have qualified in the past two weeks include LaMareo “Big Moe” Brown of East Washington Street who qualified as an independent for Ward 3 alderman, Gene Buckles of North Jackson Street, who qualified as Republican for Ward 6 alderman, and Harold Rowe of Redoak Drive,  who qualified as an independent for Ward 6 alderman.

In Wesson, those qualifying in the past two weeks include Marty Shroud for mayor, Larry Hall for Ward 1 alderman and incumbent Mike King for Ward 4 alderman. All candidates in Wesson are running as independents.



Joe Cox, inc. — Republican

David D. Smith — Democrat

Ward 1

Dorsey Cameron — Democrat

Elisa Corley Jr. — Democrat

Ward 2

Vernastine Byrd — Democrat

Danny Chatman — Democrat

Shannon Moore — Democrat

Ward 3

LaMareo “Big Moe” Brown — independent

David Holloway — Democrat

Mary H. Wilson, inc. — Democrat

Ward 4

John Roberts Jr. — Republican

Jason Snider — Republican

Rusty Yates — Republican

Ward 5

Fletcher Grice, inc. — Republican

Ward 6

Gene Buckles — Republican

Shelley M. Harrigill — independent

David McCoy — Democrat

Harold Rowe — independent

Andre D. Spiller — Democrat


Troy Douglas — Republican

Marilyn Dow-Harris — Democrat

Karen Sullivan, inc. — Republican

Police Chief

Bobby Bell, inc. — Democrat

Brookhaven Ward 1 Alderman Randy Belcher — Democrat

BPD Lt. Kenneth Collins —Democrat


(all candidates are running as independents)


Rosa Harris

Alton Shaw, inc.

Marty Shroud

Ward 1

Larry Hall

Ward 2

Jarrad Ashley

John Welter, inc.

Ward 3

Billy Ellison, inc.

Ward 4

Mike King, inc.


Stephen Ashley

Rick Crockett, inc.

The primary election is May 2. If no one gets 50 percent of the vote plus one, there will be a runoff election, which will be May 16.

If there is a runoff, voters must stick with whatever party they voted in the primary. The general election is June 6. It will include the party primary winners and any independent candidates. Residents can register to vote in the municipal election up to 30 days prior to the election.