Blakney earns NJCAA honor

Published 9:06 am Friday, April 28, 2017

For his dominating play on the golf course and for leading the Co-Lin Wolves all season long, Brandon Blakney was named a semifinalist for the NJCAA Jack Nicklaus Player of the Year award.

Semifinalists for the 2017 NAIA and NJCAA Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol have been announced. NAIA finalists for the award will be named May 11 while NJCAA finalists will be announced May 15.

Nicklaus Award recipients will be announced June 4 with the honor presented by Jack Nicklaus at a ceremony during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide Insurance at Muirfield Village Golf Club. In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the five recipients will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA TOUR’s Barbasol Championship, held July 20-23, at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Grand National in Opelika, Ala. The Barbasol Shootout will be held June 3 at the storied Scioto Country Club in Columbus, Ohio, the same club where Nicklaus learned the game of golf as a young boy.

Photo courtesy of Golf Coaches Association of America
Brandon Blakney of Co-Lin was named as a semifinalist for the NJCAA jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox