Who are the highest paid CEOs by state?

Published 10:00 am Saturday, May 26, 2018

NEW YORK — Here are the top-paid CEOs by state for 2017, as calculated by The Associated Press and Equilar, an executive data firm.

The survey considered only publicly traded companies with more than $1 billion in revenue that filed their proxy statements with federal regulators between Jan. 1 and April 30. Not every state had a publicly traded company headquartered there that was large enough to be included. The survey includes only CEOs who have been in place for at least two years, but it does not limit the survey to companies in the S&P 500, as the AP’s general compensation study does.

To calculate CEO pay, Equilar adds salary, bonus, stock awards, stock option awards, deferred compensation and other components that include benefits and perks. For some companies, big raises can occur when CEOs get a stock grant in one year as part of a multi-year grant.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The typical CEO in the Standard & Poor’s 500 index made $11.7 million last year.

  • Alabama: O. B. Grayson Hall Jr., Regions Financial, $9.4 million (Hall is stepping down in July.)
  • Arkansas: C. Douglas McMillon, Walmart, $22.8 million
  • Arizona: Richard C. Adkerson, Freeport-McMoRan, $16.2 million
  • California: Michael Rapino , Live Nation Entertainment, $70.6 million
  • Colorado: Gregory B. Maffei, Liberty Media & Qurate Retail Group, $67.6 million
  • Connecticut: Mark T. Bertolini, Aetna, $18.7 million
  • Washington, D.C.: Thomas P. Joyce, Danaher, $14.8 million
  • Delaware: Hervé Hoppenot, Incyte, $16.1 million
  • Florida: Brian D. Jellison, Roper Technologies, $29.2 million
  • Georgia: Frank J. Bisignano, First Data, $102.2 million
  • Hawaii: Constance H. Lau, Hawaiian Electric Industries, $5.4 million
  • Iowa: Daniel J. Houston, Principal Financial Group, $9.4 million
  • Idaho: Thomas K. Corrick , Boise Cascade , $4.1 million
  • Illinois: Debra A. Cafaro, Ventas, $25.3 million
  • Indiana: N. Thomas Linebarger, Cummins, $13.2 million
  • Kansas: Michael J. Brown, Euronet Worldwide, $3.9 million
  • Kentucky: Scott L. Thompson, Tempur Sealy International, $18 million
  • Louisiana: Glen F. Post III, CenturyLink, $14.3 million (Post retired at the company’s annual meeting, which was on Wednesday.)
  • Massachusetts: Stephen Kaufer, TripAdvisor, $43.2 million
  • Maryland: David M. Zaslav, Discovery Communications, $42.2 million
  • Maine: Melissa D. Smith, WEX, $10.8 million
  • Michigan: Mary T. Barra, General Motors, $21.9 million
  • Minnesota: James M. Cracchiolo, Ameriprise Financial, $22.4 million
  • Missouri: Michael F. Neidorff, Centene, $25.3 million
  • Mississippi: Joe F. Sanderson Jr., Sanderson Farms, $6.6 million
  • North Carolina: Brian T. Moynihan, Bank of America, $21.4 million
  • North Dakota: David L. Goodin, MDU Resources Group, $3.7 million
  • Nebraska: Lance M. Fritz, Union Pacific, $11.3 million
  • New Hampshire: Timothy McGrath, PC Connection, $1.6 million
  • New Jersey: Alex Gorsky, Johnson & Johnson, $23 million
  • New Mexico: Patricia K. Collawn, PNM Resources, $4.4 million
  • Nevada: Stephen A. Wynn, Wynn Resorts, $34.5 million (Wynn left the CEO position in February.)
  • New York: Leslie Moonves, CBS, $68.4 million
  • Ohio: W. Nicholas Howley, TransDigm Group, $61 million
  • Oklahoma: Robert D. Lawler, Chesapeake Energy, $14.9 million
  • Oregon: Bryan B. DeBoer, Lithia Motors, $5.9 million
  • Pennsylvania: Brian L. Roberts, Comcast, $32.5 million
  • Rhode Island: Scott C. Donnelly, Textron, $13.1 million
  • South Carolina: John D. Williams, Domtar, $7 million
  • South Dakota: David R. Emery, Black Hills, $3.4 million
  • Tennessee: Mark J. Costa, Eastman Chemical, $14 million
  • Texas: Randall L. Stephenson, AT&T, $25.6 million
  • Utah: Harris H. Simmons, Zions, $3.2 million
  • Virginia: Phebe N. Novakovic, General Dynamics, $21.2 million
  • Washington: John J. Legere, T-Mobile US, $23.6 million
  • Wisconsin: Jonas Prising, ManpowerGroup Inc., $12 million