Myron Elick Smith     

Published 8:57 pm Wednesday, August 22, 2018

Funeral services for Myron Elick Smith, of Bogue Chitto, are Friday, Aug. 24, 2018, at 3 p.m. at Sharkey Funeral Home in Summit with burial at Woodlawn cemetery. Pastor Paul Clark and Pastor Marcus Harden will officiate the service.

Visitation will be Friday, Aug. 24, 2018, from 1 p.m. until time of service at the funeral home.

Mr. Smith, 62, died Monday, Aug. 20, 2018, at the University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson. He was born Sept. 19, 1955, in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, but spent many years in Hawaii. He was the son of Claude Bennett Smith and Doris Lutee Smith. He was a retired maintenance supervisor having built his own home from foundation to roof and worked for numerous companies throughout his lifetime. He was a U.S. Army veteran.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Always available to help whether it be family, neighbors or church members, he was there to share his expert talents and share his love of God. As a final gesture, it was his desire to be an organ donor. In doing so, his gift of organ donation helped and saved the lives of 33 individuals.

He is preceded in death by his stepfather, Gene Dine.

Surviviors are his wife of 27 years, Velia Smith, of Bogue Chitto; father and stepmother, Claude Bennett Smith and Peggy, of Bogue Chitto; mother, Doris Smith, of Summit; three sons, Jonathan Rodriguez and wife, Norma, of Hawaii, Buddy Carter and wife, Denya, of St. Louis, Missouri, and Derek Smith, of Rio Rancho, New Mexico; two daughters and sons-in-law, Malia and David Turney, of Missouri and Venesa and Mike McKinstry, of Rio Rancho, New Mexico; brother, Stanley Smith and wife, Ruby, of Southaven; sister, Claudia Salcedo and husband, Carlos, of Loma Linda, California; four sisters-in-law, Beatrice Rodriguez-Cruz, Norma Comeaux, Elena Curley and Cecilia Berggren, all of Hawaii; 12 grandchildren; and numerous nieces and nephews.

Pallbearers are Buddy Carter, Jonathan Rodriguez, Carlos Salcedo, Samuel Salcedo, Ron Means and Lloyd Roberts.