Qualifying enters the final stretch for Lincoln, Lawrence counties

Published 9:44 pm Tuesday, February 26, 2019

Qualifying in Lincoln and Lawrence counties comes to a close Friday at 5 p.m.

For nearly two months, dozens of residents of both counties have submitted the proper paperwork to signify their intent to run for various offices. The last qualifying papers will be accepted in the circuit clerk offices in both counties at close of business Friday.

Individuals planning to run either Republican or Democrat pay a $100 fee to qualify. Those qualifying as independent pay a $100 fee and must return forms with 50 qualified electors’ signatures. Lincoln County Circuit Clerk Dustin Bairfield is urging candidates planning to run as independents to get their petitions to his office as soon as possible.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

He said one candidate running as an independent needed an extra day because not all 50 of his signatures qualified.

“When we checked it, it was a few short so he went out and brought it back the next day,” Bairfield said. “We check them when you bring them, but if you wait until 5 p.m. on Friday, if you’re short, you will not be allowed on the ballot. So we do urge people to try to bring those in at least a day ahead.”

Bairfield expects a few more names to be added to the list of qualifiers.

“I’d be very surprised if we didn’t have somebody show up that last day. We usually do,” he said.

He’s shocked to see only three in the chancery race so far considering it’s an open seat. Chancery Clerk Tillmon Bishop is retiring after maintaining records for the Lincoln County Board of Supervisors and Chancery Court for five four-year terms. He was one of nine candidates who ran for the open seat 20 years ago.

“That’s a little different, too, this year, so who knows,” Bairfield said.

Election Day for primaries is Aug. 6 with a runoff, if needed, set for Aug. 27. General Election Day is Nov. 5.

The following is a list of those qualifying for offices in Lincoln County as of today:

• Chancery Clerk: Republicans Quinn Jordan, Alisha McGehee and Pete Moak

• Circuit Clerk: Republican Dustin Bairfield (i)

• Constable Post 1: Republican Kelly Porter (i)

• Constable Post 2: Democrat Mary Wilson and Republicans W. Lavon Boyd (i), Krysten Butler and Troy Floyd

• Coroner: Republican Clay McMorris (i)

• County surveyor: Republican Joe W. Byrd (i)

• Justice Court Judge Post 1: Republicans Joe Portrey (i) and Ian Smith

• Justice Court Judge Post 2: Democrats Sam Keys and Valerie Moore and Republicans Mike Campbell, Ricky C. Marbury and Roger Martin (i)

• Sheriff: Republican Steve Rushing (i)

• Tax Collector/Assessor: Republican Blake Pickering (i) and Wendy Mullen Smith

• District 1 Supervisor: Democrat Jerry L. Wilson (i) and Republican Dwayne Gill

• District 2 Supervisor: Democrat Jonathon Powell and Cynthia Price, Republicans Jerry McGehee, Don Smith and Virgil Stewart and independent Roland Robinson

• District 3 Supervisor: Republican Nolan E. Williamson (i)

• District 4 Supervisor: Republicans C.E. “Eddie” Brown (i) and Jesse Butler

• District 5 Supervisor: Republican Doug Falvey (i)

Those who have qualified to run for office in Lawrence County by Tuesday are:

• Chancery Clerk: Democrat Kevin Rayborn (i)

• Circuit Clerk: open

• Constable Post 1: Democrat Clifford Butler (i)

• Constable Post 2: Democrats Gregory L. May and Jimmy Rushing and Republicans Royce Jay Renfroe (i) and Chris Wallace

• Coroner: Democrats Sandra Wilson Lambert (i) and John “Dereck” Prestridge and Republican Anthony “Tony” Buchanan Jr.

• County attorney: independent Damond Ready

• County surveyor: Republican Monty E. Sanders

• Justice Court Judge Post 1: Democrat Albert Turnage (i)

• Justice Court Judge Post 2: Republican Donald G. Mullins (i)

• Sheriff: Democrats Lessie J. Butler (i) and Ray E. Smith and Republicans Brad Davis, Ryan “Hoss” Everett, Curtis Lambert, John Michael Siler and Kenny Wayne Tanksley, and independent Shelton Jackson

• Tax Collector/Assessor: Republican Sherry Hyde Thames (i)

• District 1 Supervisor: Democrat Steve Garrett (i)

• District 2 Supervisor: Democrats Ken Bailey, Jason Lea and Billy Showers

• District 3 Supervisor: Democrats Jerry Wayne Smithie (i) and Republicans Jimmy “Glenn” Ard, James E. Howell, Trent Fuller and James Carroll Fuller

• District 4 Supervisor: Democrat Stanley Luther Stephens (i)

• District 5 Supervisor: Democrat Coach Archie Ross (i)

The following have qualified for state office as of Monday. Democratic statewide offices will not be released until Friday, per the Democrat Party.

• Governor: Republicans Tate Reeves and Robert Foster

• Lieutenant Governor: Republican Delbert Hosemann and Shane Quick

• Secretary of State: Republican Sam Britton and Michael Watson

• Treasurer: Republican Eugene S. “Buck” Clarke and David McRae

• Attorney General: Republicans Lynn Fitch and Mark Baker

• Auditor: Republican Shad White (i)

• Insurance Commissioner: Republican Mike Chaney (i)

• Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce: Republican Andy Gipson (i)

• Transportation Commissioner: Republicans Tom King (i) and Chad Toney, Southern District

• Public Service Commissioner: Republican Dane Maxwell, Southern District

• State Senate — District 39: Republicans Elizabeth Brown, Josh Davis and Sally Doty (i)

• State House — District 53: Republican Vince Mangold (i)

• State House — District 92: Republican Becky Currie (i)

• District Attorney District 14 (Lincoln, Pike and Walthall counties):  Democrat Dee Bates (i) and Republican Joe Robert “Joey” Norton IV