• 43°

Lawrence County sheriff race narrows

Barely half the eligible voters in Lawrence County turned out Tuesday to cast ballots in the primary elections for state, district and county races.

Of the 8,708 registered voters in Lawrence County, 4,539 participated in the primary — 52.12 percent, according to the election summary report from Lawrence County Circuit Clerk Sandy Brister.

In unofficial results, Democrat voters overwhelmingly chose incumbent Sheriff Lessie Butler over Ray Smith, while Republican voters split their vote between five candidates — Brad Davis, Ryan “Hoss” Everett, Curtis Lambert, John Michael Siler and David Stanley.

Butler, a first-term sheriff, received 74.43 percent of the Democratic vote. That primary ended with Butler’s 1,182 votes to Smith’s 380.

On the Republican side, Everett came close to avoiding a runoff with his 1,325 votes (46.30 percent). He’ll face Davis, who received 19.25 percent, or 551 votes. Those knocked out of the running were Curtis Lambert (481 votes, 16.81 percent), David Stanley (252 votes, 8.81 percent) and John Michael Siler (242 votes, 8.46 percent).

Butler and either Everett or Davis will face the two independent candidates Nov. 5. They are Willie J. Collins Jr. and Shelton Jackson.

Several seats are unopposed — Brister (Republican), Chancery Clerk Kevin Rayborn (Democrat), Constable Post 1 Clifford Butler (Democrat), County Surveyor Monty E. Sanders (Republican), Justice Court Judge 1 Albert Turnage (independent), Justice Court Judge 2 Donald G. Mullins (Republican), Tax Assessor/Collector Sherry Hyde Thames (Republican), District 1 Steve M. Garrett (Republican) and District 4 Supervisor Stanley Luther Stephens (Democrat).

In other races:

• District 2 Supervisor: Billy Showers won the Democratic primary with 360 votes, or 52.79 percent. Showers will face Republican candidate Delane C. Ervin and independent Cedric Alexander Nov. 5.

• District 3 Supervisor: Jimmy Glenn Ard and Trent Fuller will face each other in the Republican runoff. Ard received 47.57 percent, or 450 votes, to Fuller’s 21.78 percent, or 206 votes. The winner will face incumbent Jerry Wayne Smithie, a Democrat, in the general election.

• District 5 Supervisor: Incumbent Coach Archie Ross, a Democrat, will face Ronnie Fortenberry, a Republican, in November.

• Coroner: Incumbent Sandra Wilson Lambert defeated John “Dereck” Prestridge in the Democratic primary. She received 980 votes, or 64.01 percent. She’ll face Republican candidate Anthony “Tony” Buchanan Jr. in the general election.

• Constable Post 2: Gregory L. May defeated Jimmy Rushing, 251 to 204, in the Democratic primary. There will be a runoff Aug. 27 in the Republican primary between incumbent Royce Jay Renfroe and Sterling Allen. Renfroe received 907 votes, or 47.29 percent, while Allen, received 657 votes or 34.25 percent. Rushing will face the winner of the runoff in November.