State voter registration deadline is Monday

Published 10:31 pm Friday, October 4, 2019

Mississippi residents who want to help choose a governor are facing a voter registration deadline.

The secretary of state’s office says Monday is the last day people can register in person.

Circuit clerks’ offices are required to be open from 8 a.m. until noon today. They will also be open until 5 p.m. Monday.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Registration forms that are mailed must be postmarked by Monday.

The general election is Nov. 5.

In addition to governor, the ballot will have seven other statewide offices. It will also have two regional offices — transportation commissioner and public service commissioner. And, it will have several county offices.

Lincoln County ballots include:

For governor: Jim Hood Democrat), Tate Reeves (Republican), Bob Hickingbottom (Constitution) and David R. Singletary (independent).

For lieutenant governor: Delbert Hosemann (Republican) and Jay Hughes (Democrat).

For secretary of state: Johnny DuPree (Democrat) and Michael Watson (Republican).

For attorney general: Jennifer Riley Collins (Democrat) and Lynn Fitch (Republican).

For state treasurer: Addie Lee Green (Democrat) and David McRae (Republican).

For commissioner of agriculture and commerce: Rickey L. Cole (Democrat) and Andy Gipson (Republican).

For commissioner of insurance: Robert E. Amos (Democrat) and Mike Chaney (Republican).

For district attorney: Dee Bates (Democrat) and Joey Norton (Republican).

For House of Representatives District 53: Rita Wilkinson Goss (Democrat) and Vince Mangold (Republican).

For District 1 supervisor: Dwayne Gill (Republican) and Jerry L. Wilson (Democrat).

For District 2 supervisor: Jerry McGehee (Republican), Cynthia Price (Democrat) and Roland Robinson (independent).

For justice court judge Post Two: Robert Martin (Republican) and Valerie Moore (Democrat).

For constable Post Two: W. Lavon Boyd (Republican) and Mary H. Wilson (Democrat).

Special election for school district Ed 3: Perry S. Brown, Barbara F. Buie and Brian D. Magee (all independent).