Lincoln County elected officials take oaths of office Monday

Published 8:20 pm Monday, December 30, 2019

One of the two circuit judges administering oaths of office to Lincoln County elected officials Monday urged them to remember the day.

Judges Michael Taylor and David Strong took turns swearing in members of the Lincoln County Board of Supervisors — Jerry Wilson (District 1), Nolan Williamson (District 3), Eddie Brown (District 4) and Doug Falvey (District 5), Tax Collector/Assessor Blake Pickering, Circuit Clerk Dustin Bairfield, Sheriff Steve Rushing, Post 1 Justice Court Judge Ian Smith, Post 2 Justice Court Judge Roger Martin, Constable Post 1 Kelly Porter and Constable Post 2 W. Lavon Boyd.

The ceremony took place in the Lincoln County-Brookhaven Government Complex in the circuit courtroom.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Chancery Judge Joseph Durr swore in District 2 Supervisor Jerry McGehee and Chancery Clerk Alisha McGehee Friday.

Coroner Clay McMorris couldn’t attend Monday’s event and took his oath of office last week.

“We do this and you take these oaths, it means something,” Taylor said. “Those of us who are office holders, it’s a huge responsibility. You witness us make an oath before God and to do our best and to use powers that people gave us in the election for the right purposes.”

Taylor said officials may look back on this day over the next four years.

“I would urge you, when you get those phone calls, and you think, ‘Why did I run for this?’ Remember the oath. Remember today. Remember you stood here and said you’d do it,” he said. “It’s difficult work. Do it so people will like you. Do it so you’ll get to keep it. But if none of those things motivate us, do it because you swore to God you wanted it. Do it right.”

Following the ceremony, Lincoln County deputies were also sworn in.