Time almost up to register for primaries

Published 8:38 pm Friday, February 7, 2020

Monday is the deadline to register for the 2020 primary.

Potential voters who are 17 years old can also register, so long as they will be 18 by the Nov. 3 general election. Young voters must have been born on or before Nov. 3, 2002 to be eligible. Those registering to vote should bring a photo ID.

“If they don’t have one we have a system in place to verify it,” Lincoln County Circuit Clerk Dustin Bairfield said.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Voters who are already registered but just need to update their information — because of a change of address or a name change — can update their information online at yallvote.sos.ms.gov. Those registered voters can also call Bairfield at 601-835-3435 or visit his office at the Lincoln County-Brookhaven Government Complex.

Bairfield will keep the doors open today from 8 a.m. until noon, giving young voters a change to register last minute. Bairfield’s office will also be open on two other Saturdays — Feb. 29 and March 7, also from 8 a.m. until noon.

Republican and Democratic primaries will take place in Mississippi on March 10. Absentee ballots are currently being accepted, and must be turned in by March 7.

Bairfield said there is a possibility that the Democratic primary could end in a runoff. If this happens, the runoff Election Day will take place on March 31. If you vote in the primary, you must remain with that party if you vote in the runoff. If you did not vote in the primary, you can vote either way in a runoff.

Bairfield’s office will be open to the public during poll worker training dates on Feb. 27 and Feb. 29, both starting at 9 a.m.


Primary Ballot

For U.S. President

• Roque ‘Rocky’ De La Fuente

• Donald J. Trump

• Bill Weld

For U.S. Senate

• Cindy Hyde-Smith

For U.S. House of Representatives, 3rd Congressional District

• Michael Guest

• James Tulp


Primary Ballot

For U.S. President

• Joseph R. Biden

• Michael R.


• Pete Buttigieg

• Tulsi Gabbard

• Amy Klobuchar

• Deval Patrick

• Bernie Sanders

• Tom Steyer

• Elizabeth Warren

• Andrew Yang

For U.S. Senate

• Tobey Bernard Bartee

• Jensen Bohren

• Mike Espy

For U.S. House of Representatives, 3rd Congressional District

• Dorothy ‘Dot’ Benford

• Katelyn Lee