New MEMA disaster assistance centers to open in Lawrence, Walthall counties, others

Published 3:31 pm Monday, May 11, 2020

The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency in partnership with county EMA directors will open six Disaster Assistance Centers for residents, in the newly added counties, now eligible to apply for individual assistance following the April 12 severe weather and tornadoes.

Those living in Clarke, Grenada, Jasper, Lawrence, Panola and Walthall counties could be eligible for the federal assistance through FEMA. These sites are to assist those without the means for applying online or by phone. The new disaster assistance center locations will open Tuesday at noon.

Regular hours of operation will be Monday-Friday 8 a.m. until 5 p.m., and Saturday 8 a.m. until noon. Centers will be closed Sundays.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox


Lawrence County — Lawrence EOC, 703 East Broad St., Monticello

Walthall County — Walthall County EOC, 908 Armory Road, Tylertown

Clarke County — Clarke County EMA, 642 South Archusa Ave., Quitman

Grenada County — Lewis Johnson Senior Citizen Complex, Grenada

Jasper County — Jasper EOC, 37 D West 8th Ave., Bay Springs

Panola County — Panola County Extension Building, 394 Hwy. 51 S, Batesville

Information required

  • Social Security number
  • Insurance information
  • Damage information
  • Financial information
  • Contact information
  • Direct deposit information (optional)

Storm victims in these counties can also apply for assistance online at or by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362). Hearing and speech impaired can call 800-462-7585.