Brookhaven woman continues role as MSU alumni director

Published 3:36 pm Tuesday, September 15, 2020

The director of the Lincoln County Chapter of The Mississippi State University Alumni Association has been welcomed into a second term as Mississippi South 2 Region director.

Celeste Carty, of Brookhaven, has been active in the Lincoln County Chapter in various leadership roles, including past president, and has been active in the Alumni Recruitment Network. Carty earned a Bachelor of Science degree in marketing in 1979.

The association has also welcomed a new national treasurer, Riley Nelson of Vicksburg, the former Mississippi Central Region 3 director.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Other directors returning to roles with the association include Herbert Clark of Rolling Fork, Matt Mahan of Kosciusko, Nathan Cummins of Clinton, Theressia McAlpin of Pearl and Dwanda Moore of Ridgeland in Central Region director roles; and Fred Monsour of Meridian, Lynn Twitty Burwell of Gulfport, Richard Cannon of Ocean Springs and Jonathan Jackson of Hickory in South Region director roles.

These individuals began terms July 1, representing the university’s more than 149,000 living alumni and the 104 chapters and clubs of the association. The Alumni Association was founded June 17, 1885, by the first three graduating classes of then Mississippi Agricultural and Mechanical College.

For more information about the MSU Alumni Association, contact Jeff Davis, executive director, at 662-325-7000 or