Election results: MS Senate District 39 special election

Published 7:33 pm Tuesday, September 22, 2020

A special election was scheduled to fill the Mississippi Senate District 39 seat after Sen. Sally Doty resigned in July to head the Public Utilities staff.

The following nine candidates qualified for the Sept. 22 special election, running without party designations. Polls were open until 7 p.m.

In Lincoln County, 30/30 precincts reporting, unofficial results.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

These results DO NOT include totals from other counties.

FINAL numbers, including machine, curbside, affidavit and all but 58 absentee ballots:

o Bill Sones.  31.71% 2,336 votes

o Jason Barrett  19.0%  1,400 votes

o Beth Brown. 15.04%  1,108 votes

o Michael Smith.   11.69%  861 votes

o Prentiss Smith.   8.66% 638 votes

o Ben Johnson. 7.63%  562 votes

o Mike Campbell.  3.46%   255 votes

o Josh Davis.  2.0%  147 votes

o Cindy Bryan.  0.72%  53 votes

o Write-in 0.10%    7 votes

Precincts reporting include Government Complex, City Hall, Bogue Chitto, Ole Brook, High School, Big Springs, Forestry, Enterprise, Old Red Star, Parliament, Heucks Retreat, Johnson, New Sight, Fair River, Little Bahalia, Brignall, Vaughn, Johnson Grove, East Lincoln, Northhill, Arlington, Loyd Star

In the event a clear winner is not decided, a runoff will be conducted Tuesday, Oct. 13.

Results will be posted here as numbers become available.

Official results will include all absentee ballots — 58 were still out as of Tuesday night. Any absentee ballot postmarked by today and received within five days will be added to these totals.


UNOFFICIAL RESULTS from other counties on the top four vote-getters:


Jason Barrett 33.33%, 185 votes

Bill Sones 28.22%, 160 votes

Beth Brown 13.23%, 75 votes

Cindy Bryan 7.23%  41 votes



Jason Barrett 38.49% 973 votes

Michael Smith 19.15% 484 votes

Cindy Bryan 12.26% 310 votes

Bill Sones 8.82% 223 votes



Jason Barrett 30.29% 143 votes

Bill Sones 22.45% 106 votes

Beth Brown 18.22% 86 votes

Michael Smith 8.26% 39 votes