Lincoln County school board welcomes new members

Published 3:12 pm Wednesday, January 20, 2021

Two Lincoln County School District board members will continue to serve the district after its regular meeting.

On Tuesday, the school board met at Bogue Chitto Attendance Center. One topic on the agenda was swearing in Perry Brown and Dianne Gill for their new terms. They were reelected in November.

Brown was elected to serve as District 3 board member for a six-year term. This will be his first full term. He had previously served a partial term. Gill was elected to serve as District 4 board member for a six-year term. This will be her second full term.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Superintendent David Martin witnessed Brown and Gill as they took their oaths.

“They’ve been great to work, they’ve done a fantastic job,” Martin said. “I’m excited to continue working with them. I’m excited about the things we’ve accomplished. They’re a very informed and active board and I’m happy to be working with them.”

The board also elected its trustees during the meeting. These trustees will serve in their positions for one year. Each of the positions on the board was voted on unanimously.

Board member Tim Cunningham was voted board president. He previously served as vice president. Gill was voted board vice president and Brown was voted board secretary.

“I just appreciate the job you did in 2020,” Cunningham said about former board president Justin Laird. “We all knew the superintendent transition was happening but we didn’t foresee the virus. You did extremely well during that time and we thank you.”