MDOT honors Brookhaven’s Thurman for 25 years of service

Published 11:00 am Friday, February 5, 2021

The Mississippi Department of Transportation’s environmental director was recently recognized by a national organization for her service to the transportation industry.

Kim Thurman, of Brookhaven, received the 25-Year Award of Meritorious Service from the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials.

“For over 25 years Kim has worked to ensure MDOT’s projects and development serve the best interest of Mississippi’s natural environment balanced with the state’s growing transportation needs,” said MDOT Executive Director Melinda McGrath. “It is an honor to present this national award to Kim. I am grateful for her dedication to MDOT and service to the people of Mississippi.”

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The award honors the benefits accruing to the public from the accumulated and continuous experience of those who make public service their life work. Experienced professionals, such as Thurman, add to the efficiency of MDOT and help the agency to make decisions and policy that are informed by first-hand experience and institutional knowledge. The intangible value of long-serving professionals cannot be fully calculated in terms of dollars and cents.

Thurman began her career at MDOT in the Planning Division in the spring of 1995. In fall 2001, she moved to MDOT’s Environmental Division.

AASHTO is a nonprofit, nonpartisan association representing highway and transportation departments in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. It represents all transportation modes including: air, highways, public transportation, active transportation, rail, and water. Its primary goal is to foster the development, operation, and maintenance of an integrated national transportation system.

AASHTO presents the award to transportation employees after serving 25 years with an AASHTO member department and reaching the grade of district engineer, central office division head, bureau chief of higher.

For more information on MDOT’s Environmental Division, visit