Brookhaven MHP trooper, 22 others honored at DUI 100 awards

Published 4:00 pm Monday, August 23, 2021

A Brookhaven Mississippi Highway Patrol trooper was among a group of MHP troopers recognized at the recent 2020 DUI 100 Club Awards Luncheon.

Troop M Trooper Joshua Huhn and 22 other troopers were honored for their efforts to combat impaired driving at the event, hosted by Sobriety Trained Officers Representing Mississippi.

The DUI 100 Club was established in 1983 to recognize law enforcement officers across the state who write a minimum of 100 DUI citations within a calendar year. Law enforcement officers from 21 agencies, including 13 police departments, six sheriff’s offices, the Mississippi Highway Patrol and the National Park Service, were recognized at this year’s luncheon.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Mississippi Department of Public Safety Commissioner Sean Tindell served as the event’s keynote speaker. Awards were presented by MHP Col. Randy Ginn. Trooper

John Harris, one of this year’s award recipients, was honored during the luncheon with a moment of silence. Harris was killed in an accident in May 2021.

“Congratulations to the Troopers and law enforcement officers recognized at the 2020 DUI 100 Club Awards Luncheon,” said Colonel Randy Ginn. “We are both proud and appreciative of your commitment to the safety of the state’s citizens.”

“The Mississippi Highway Patrol Troopers recognized at this year’s DUI 100 Club Awards Luncheon issued more than 2,000 citations for impaired driving,” said Tindell.

“The recognized Troopers have removed a significant number of impaired drivers from our state’s roadways, ultimately preventing crashes and saving lives.”

The following Troopers were recognized at this year’s awards luncheon:

Troop M – Brookhaven

  •  Trooper Joshua Huhn – 100 DUI Club (115 citations)

Troop F – New Albany

  •  Trooper Wesley Kelley – 100 DUI Club (184 citations)
  •  Trooper Bryan Morrow – 100 DUI Club (178 citations)
  •  Trooper Adam Zachary – 100 DUI Club (141 citations)
  •  Trooper Randy Box – 100 DUI Club (115 citations)
  •  Trooper Jason Jenkins – 100 DUI Club (111 citations)
  •  Trooper Joshua Jones – Honorable Mention (66 citations)
  •  Trooper Joshua Jarvis – Honorable Mention (61 citations)
  •  Trooper Zachariah Meeks – Honorable Mention (59 citations)
  •  Trooper Daniel Whited – Honorable Mention (55 citations)
  •  Trooper Richard Vaughn – Honorable Mention (51 citations)

Troop E – Batesville

  •  Trooper Jonathan Bishop – 100 DUI Club (105 citations)
  •  Trooper Jason Young – 100 DUI Club (105 citations)
  •  Trooper Heath Mullins – Honorable Mention (63 citations)
  •  Trooper Marvin Vaughan – Honorable Mention (62 citations)
  •  Trooper Caleb Gowen – Honorable Mention (50 citations)

Troop C – Pearl

  •  Trooper John Harris – 100 DUI Club (115 citations)
  •  Trooper William King – Honorable Mention (63 citations)
  •  Trooper Johnathan Smith – Honorable Mention (54 citations)

Troop D – Greenwood

  •  Trooper Dillon Norwood – Honorable Mention (88 citations)

Troop G – Starkville

  •  Trooper Raphael McClain – Honorable Mention (74 citations)

Troop K – Biloxi

  •  Trooper Timothy Gipson – Honorable Mention (58 citations)

Troop H – Meridian

  •  Trooper Derrick Qualls – Honorable Mention (50 citations)