Matinee Musicale hosts MS School of the Arts Chorale

Published 9:00 am Sunday, December 12, 2021

At the first meeting of Matinee Musicale since the beginning of the pandemic members were entertained with a wonderful program presented by the Mississippi School of the Arts  Chorale at Mary Jane Lampton Auditorium.

Mrs. Don Doty, president, welcomed the members and introduced Patton Rice, director of the Chorale, and Cindy Hunter, Accompanist.

The choir opened with the inspiring “MSA Alma Mater” written by Jeanne Lebow and Patton Rice and followed with the fun-filled traditional American folk song “Reuben, Reuben” arranged by Vijay Singh.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The lovely “The Rose and the Gardener” by the Canadian composer Eleanor Daley has a wonderful acapella section that showcased the exceptional voices of the soprano and the alto sections which were so perfectly in tune they sounded like one voice.

“Ominia Sol” by  Z. Randall Stroope is a beautiful reflection on those who have been supportive on life’s journey.

The beginning of the holiday section was “Holiday Invitation” by Victor C Johnson. This delightful arrangement of “Deck the Halls” was enjoyed by all.

“Winter Carol” by Gustav Holst is an enchanting arrangement by Frances Meier of “In the Bleak Midwinter” featuring a solo by baritone Derrick Carter. The lovely accompaniment was performed brilliantly by Hunter. Rice praised her not only for her talent at the piano but for her assistance with the girls’ vocal training as well.

The choir blended exquisitely in “What Sweeter Music” by Eleanor Daley which featured a  magical echo section.

Michael Clawson’s arrangement of “The First Noel” set to Johann Pachebel’s Canon was an amazing matchup of these two very familiar pieces of music.

The program closed with the marvelous arrangement by Mark Brymer of “Sleigh Ride “ by Leroy Anderson.

Doty presented cupcakes to the Chorale in appreciation for the splendid program.

Members of the chorale are Kayla Braswell, Peyton Cartwright, Elizabeth Merritte, Daisy Roberson, Zoe Washington, Aliyah Watts, Abigail Young, Jilli Grace Asa, Kaitlyn Busby, Cassie Gonzalez, Talanda Miller, Celeste Waters and Derrick Carter.