USDA designates 9 Mississippi counties as Ida disaster areas

Published 10:00 am Saturday, December 25, 2021

Secretary Thomas J. Vilsack has designated nine Mississippi counties as primary natural disaster area, making producers eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

Producers in Franklin, George, Hancock, Jackson, Kemper, Lincoln, Marion, Pike, and Walthall counties who suffered losses caused by strong winds, heavy rain and Hurricane Ida (as well as Tropical Storm Ida) occurring Aug. 29-30 qualify for emergency loans up to 100 percent of their actual production loss or the amount needed to restore their operation to its pre-disaster condition, whichever is less. They can also ask about refinancing certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Farmers in the contiguous Mississippi counties of Adams, Amite, Copiah, Greene, Harrison, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Pearl River, Perry, Stone, Wilkinson and Winston are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Aug. 8, 2022.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include the following:

Emergency Assistance for Livestock

Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program

Emergency Conservation Program

Livestock Forage Disaster Program

Livestock Indemnity Program

Operating and Farm Ownership Loans

Tree Assistance Program

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center at 1395 Johnny Johnson Dr, Brookhaven, 601-348-9880, for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs.