USDA FSA announces election of county committee members

Published 9:00 am Saturday, January 15, 2022

Travis Cody Britt of Brookhaven has been elected to represent his local administrative area (LAA 1) during the recent Lincoln-Franklin County U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency committee election.

“County committee members are a critical component of the day-to-day operations of FSA,” said County Executive Director Melissa Jordan. “They help deliver programs at the county level and work to serve the needs of local producers. All recently elected county committee members will take office in January 2022 and will be joining the existing committee.”

Every FSA office is served by a county committee made up of local farmers, ranchers and foresters who are elected by local producers. Other members currently serving on the FSA county committee include John Patrick Ard, Jerry Sisco, Karen Clements and Frances Wilson.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Committee members impact the FSA administration within a community by applying their knowledge and judgment to help FSA make important decisions on its commodity support programs, conservation programs, indemnity and disaster programs, emergency programs and eligibility.

Members provide a service to local producers through decision making and ensure the fair and equitable administration of FSA farm programs in their counties. They are accountable to the Secretary of Agriculture. They conduct hearings and reviews as requested by the state committee; ensure that underserved farmers, ranchers and foresters are fairly represented; make recommendations to the state committee on existing programs; monitor changes in farm programs and inform farmers of the purpose and provisions of FSA programs. Committee members also assist with outreach and inform underserved producers such as beginning farmers, ranchers and foresters, about FSA opportunities.

For more information visit or contact the Lincoln-Franklin County FSA office at 601-833-9321 ext. 2.