4 local officers honored at Police Memorial and Appreciation Day

Published 2:08 pm Tuesday, May 17, 2022

At Mississippi’s Police Memorial and Appreciation Day Tuesday, 37 law enforcement officers were named recipients of the 2022 Top Cop awards. Among them was Brookhaven Police Department’s Lt. Michael Harvey. The Crime Stoppers Top Cop award was presented “in appreciation for outstanding performance and leadership.”

The memories of 16 officers who died during the 2020-2021 year were also honored. These included Marzell Jerome Brooks of BPD, whose End of Watch was Sunday, Nov. 13, 2020; and Marshall Lee “Bem” London Jr., of the Lincoln County Sheriff’s Office, whose End of Watch was Monday, May 18, 2020.

BPD Chief Kenneth Collins was presented a Lifetime Achievement Award, in recognition of distinguished service to officers and families.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox