Estes selected to serve on 2022 Ag Youth Council

Published 3:56 pm Wednesday, June 15, 2022

JACKSON – High school senior Amy Grace Estes of Lincoln County is one of the 12 student finalists chosen to serve on the 2022 Ag Youth Council Friday. Estes attends Loyd Star High School in Brookhaven.

“It feels great. I’m lucky to have an opportunity to help Mississippi in the agricultural field,” Estes said.

She began her involvement in agriculture as a five-year-old in 4H as a little clover bud and began showing sheep. This year will be the last time she shows sheep, she said. In addition to showing livestock, Estes is in the Future Farmers of America and continues to be a member of 4H. 

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Wednesday, she was helping judge an agricultural event held at Southwest Mississippi Community College in Summit. She said she enjoys helping kids learn about plant and animal science. 

“I want to go into the field of agriculture. It is interesting for me,” she said. “I want to earn an animal science and a plant science degree, so I can have an agriculture science degree. I want to become an agriculture teacher. Thanks to my ag teachers Billy Sumrall and Jeb McBeth, I got involved, and I want to do that too.” 

Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce Andy Gipson said the members of the 2022-2023 Mississippi Agriculture Youth Council are Pacey Baucom of Jones County; Chase Boone of Smith County; Grant Goree of Smith County; Caroline Chapman of Tippah County; Leighton Horton of Tippah County; Owen Massey of Covington County; Sadie Morris of Panola County; Hannah Reed of Rankin County; Sy Sullivan of Simpson County; Jenna Walters of Jones County; and Jon Tyler Wells of Scott County. 

Members are chosen through an application process and interviewed by a committee of representatives from the Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce (MDAC).

“I’m excited to announce the new members of our department’s Mississippi Agriculture Youth Council,” said Commissioner Gipson. “This past year’s council went on a number of educational tours and gained industry exposure from farm, ranch and agritourism operators, legislative leaders and other knowledgeable speakers. It was a pleasure to watch these students gain hands-on experience and insight into the vast world of agriculture. I’m very proud of the students who served on our inaugural 2021 Mississippi Ag Youth Council. As we continue to look toward the future and those who will directly affect our ag workforce, I want to congratulate the 12 new student finalists selected for this distinguished honor.”

Students selected to the youth council have an interest in agriculture. The goal of this council is to expose the students to different agriculture career fields and teach them how to advocate for various aspects of the agriculture industry. 

Council members will visit Mississippi agricultural companies and organizations. They will learn about the legislative process and how it affects the agriculture industry, hold discussions with industry professionals and hone career-development skills.

Council members will serve for one year, from August 2022 to June 2023, and attend a minimum of four meetings at the MDAC headquarters located in Jackson. Estes said she looks forward to the Ag Council. 

“I”m looking forward to deepening my knowledge. I’ve been in 4H, but I feel like I haven’t done a whole lot,” Estes said. “I’m looking forward to different meetings, working with Andy Gipson and seeing a different side of agriculture. I’ll have a little more experience going into college.”

Estes said she plans to attend Mississippi State University after graduation from Loyd Star in 2023.