3 area students on 2022-2023 State Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council

Published 1:28 pm Monday, October 10, 2022

Two Brookhaven High School students and one Lawrence County High School student have been named to the State Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council for the 2022-2023 school year.

Bryce Smith and Alexandra Wall of BHS, and Rayden Conerly of LCHS were among the 60 new members of the 110-member council. The council includes juniors and seniors, as well as college freshmen to serve terms of two school years.

All students are from different backgrounds, school sizes and regions in Mississippi, and will be able to share their opinions and offer advice about educational policy and opportunities with interim State Superintendent Dr. Kim Benton.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“Student voice is critical as we strive to continue academic progress in Mississippi classrooms,” Benton said. “I look forward to meeting all Student Advisory Council members and learning how we can further support them in reaching their career and academic goals.”

Each fall, the Mississippi Department of Education opens applications for new members to the SAC. Students are required to write a compelling cover letter and provide answers to questions about their interest in the SAC, their accomplishments, educational concerns, and academic goals.

The council’s purpose is to provide a forum for Mississippi’s students to offer diverse perspectives to the State Superintendent of Education. The students will act as liaisons between MDE and public-school students from across the state. Council meetings will be held three times during the school year.

See the complete list of 2022-23 Student Advisory Council members.