MSU alum Fred Buie, others to be honored

Published 4:00 pm Wednesday, November 2, 2022

Brookhaven native Frederick V. “Fred” Buie is one of eight prominent graduates of Mississippi State University who will be honored as 2022 Alumni Fellows.

Buie is a two-time MSU graduate, having earned bachelor and master’s degrees in industrial engineering in 1978 and 1991, respectively. He will be honored by the James Worth Bagley College of Engineering.

Buie began his career with the General Electric Company, where he held project engineering and production management positions in the motors, aircraft instruments and lighting departments. Buie also served in the consulting business and as a manufacturing methods engineer for McDonnell Douglas Aircraft Company.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In 1998, he purchased Keystone Electrical Manufacturing Company in Des Moines, Iowa. The company, which Buie led as president for more than two decades, manufactures protection and control relay panels, medium voltage switchgear, and turnkey control centers used in the generation, transmission, and distribution of electric power, and serves the electric utility industry throughout the nation.

In 2020, Buie returned to his native Brookhaven, where he retired following the sale of Keystone to a former competitor. At MSU, he serves on the foundation’s board of directors and the Engineering Advisory Board and was previously honored by the Bagley College as a Distinguished Fellow in 2008.

Buie and the other honorees will visit classes Nov. 3-5 on MSU’s Starkville campus, and will be recognized at the MSU vs. Auburn football game.

“The Alumni Association is proud to bring dedicated alumni from each of the university’s eight academic colleges back to our campus to share their stories, and to mentor and enrich the lives of our students,” said Jeff Davis, executive director of the MSU Alumni Association. “We have had many outstanding graduates among our Alumni Fellows through the years. This annual experience strengthens the Fellows’ connections with MSU and better positions them to serve as strong alumni leaders for current and future members of the Bulldog family.”

The 2022 fellows, who carry the title for life, are among the university’s more than 158,000 living alumni worldwide.

The other honorees are: Ted H. Kendall IV, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences; Ben Jenkins, College of Architecture, Art and Design; Myna Dickerson Sowell, College of Arts and Sciences; Cynthia Cooper, College of Business; John Correro, College of Education; Zack Parisa, College of Forest Resources; and Dr. Rance M. Gamblin, College of Veterinary Medicine.

More information on the 2022 class of MSU Alumni Fellows and the alumni association can be found at