Wesson seniors rack up scholarships

Published 4:00 pm Friday, May 19, 2023

Wesson seniors won multiple scholarships, including:

• Minister’s Alliance— Jayonce Stewart, $4,500; Kiara Haynes, $500

• Wesson Lion’s Club— Sarajo Dear, $500; Gabe Selman, Jimmy Hodges Memorial $500; Madeline Smith, James M Lewis $500; Madalynn McManus, Taylor Papizan and Akiria Brown, Girls State

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

• Junior Auxiliary Crystal Springs, Ann Gulledge Scholarship — Akiria Brown

• Zeta Phi Beta — Akiria Brown, Kiara Haynes and Jayonce Stewart

• Jim Lowery Memorial— Gabe Selman

• University/College — Dawson Butler, William Carey; Victoria Silvan, Ole Miss; Orrin Ainsworth and Cole Short, Mississippi College; Kiara Haynes and Jayonce Stewart, Alcorn State; Lexie Freeman, Southern Mississippi; Grayson Coates, Mississippi State; Jo’vontae May, Mississippi Valley State; Akiria Brown, Jackson State; AJ Perkins, Graceland University in Iowa (x2); Emma Thaxton, Southwest Mississippi Community College (x3)

• Co-Lin — Sylvia Bell, Kalyn Benton (x2), Coleman Bounds (x2), Harlan Brewer (x3), Connor Brister, Noah Brister, Dawson Butler (x2), Marley Channell (x2), Jaylynn Cloy (x2), Jessie Cole (x2), Lena Coleman (x2), Sarajo Dear, Abbie Edwards, Olivia Grantham, Justin Hailey (x2), Chris Harrison, Ethan Laird, Will Loy (x3), Madalynn McManus (x2), Lucas McRee (x2), Hannah Meredith (x3), Slayd Oswalt, Taylor Papizan (x2), Sadie Sandifer, Gabe Selman, Chloey Smith (x2, Madeline Smith, Allyson Sullivan (x3), Caleb Sutton (x2), Emma Thaxton (x2) and Adam Walker

• Other — Jaylynn Cloy, Southern Agriculture; Connor Brister, Madeline Smith and Jayonce Stewart, Greg Holloway Scholarship; Jaylynn Cloy, 4H (x4); Allyson Sullivan and Emma Thaxton, Mississippi Association of Supervisors; Madlynn McManus, Fidelity Services; Akiria Brown, Mississippi Municipal Clerk; Marley Channell, Organ Recovery Agency; Lexie Freeman, Mississippi Blood Services.