Co-Lin grad wins USM Presidential Scholarship

Published 2:00 pm Sunday, June 18, 2023

Recent Copiah-Lincoln Community College graduate Akura Brown of Hazlehurst has been awarded the University of Southern Mississippi (USM) Community College Presidential Scholarship, earning her an award of $2,000 per year. A May 2023 graduate of Co-Lin, she will continue her education in USM’s nursing school. Brown was nominated by Co-Lin President Dr. Jane Hulon Sims.

While at Co-Lin, Brown served as President of the Eta Omega Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, President of the Trailblazers, Representative for the Student Government Association, and Secretary of Sigma Kappa Delta. She was a member of the Council of Presidents and the Women’s Resident Council. She was elected as Miss Co-Lin, selected as Trailblazer of the Year, Who’s Who at Co-Lin, and was inducted into the college’s Hall of Fame. She is the daughter of Tracy and Derek Brown of Hazlehurst.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox