Brookhaven high schooler wins trucking scholarship

Published 10:07 am Sunday, August 20, 2023

Elijah Ebbers, of Brookhaven, was one of 36 recent winners of Mississippi Trucking Association Foundation scholarships.

The primary objective of the foundation is to promote educational projects related to the trucking industry and provide scholarships to deserving students with ties to the trucking industry, and enrolled in scholastic endeavors in Mississippi.

The scholarship program was started more than 34 years ago, and more than 330 students have received scholarships to date.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Ebbers won his scholarship through the Vernon G. and Nancy Sawyer Endowment. Another Southwest Mississippi student, Amyia Mackey of Hazlehurst, won an H. Dean Cotten Endowment scholarship.