Area farmers may be eligible for emergency USDA loans

Published 4:57 pm Friday, September 15, 2023

Farmers in Lincoln and Lawrence counties may now be eligible for emergency loans through the U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency.

Secretary Thomas J. Vilsack has designated 18 Mississippi counties as a primary disaster area from fast track drought beginning Aug. 29, 2023. Producers in these counties who suffered drought losses and qualify may borrow up to 100 percent of their actual production loss or the amount needed to restore their operation to its pre-disaster condition, whichever is less, or refinance certain debts. FSA will review loans based on extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Primary disaster area counties are Lincoln, Lawrence, Copiah, Franklin, Pike, Jefferson, Walthall, Adams, Claiborne, Forrest, George, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Lamar, Marion, Pearl River, and Stone.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Producers in some contiguous counties are also eligible to apply — Amite, Covington, Greene, Hinds, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Perry, Rankin, Simpson, Warren, and Wilkinson.

Deadline to apply is May 6, 2024.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from disasters. Programs that do not require disaster declarations include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact local USDA service centers for further information and applications. Additional information is available at