3 Brookhaven High students selected for state council

Published 11:00 am Sunday, October 15, 2023

Three Brookhaven High School students have been selected to serve on the 2023-2024 State Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council.

Violet Belk, Brianna Brown and Bryce Smith are part of the 111-member board of high school juniors and seniors, and first-year college students. The council consists of 67 new members, including 10 students who were semifinalists for the State Board of Education Junior Representative position, and 44 students returning to the council from the previous school year.

All students are from different backgrounds, school sizes, and regions in Mississippi and will be able to share their opinions and offer advice about education policy and opportunities with Interim State Superintendent of Education Ray Morgigno.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Each fall, MDE opens applications for new SAC members. Students must write a compelling cover letter and provide answers to questions about their interest in the SAC, their accomplishments, educational concerns, and academic goals.

The purpose of the council is to provide a forum for Mississippi students to offer diverse perspectives. They will act as liaisons between MDE and public-school students statewide. The council will meet three times during the school year.

Other area council members include: Rayden Conerly, Lawrence County School District, Southwest Community College; and Alexandria Wall, Copiah-Lincoln Community College. Both Conerly and Wall were first selected for the 2022-2023 school year.

For a full list of members, visit www.MDEK12.org.