Lincoln County students are school winners for national scholarship

Published 3:59 pm Tuesday, November 7, 2023

WEST LINCOLN — Lincoln County students from Bogue Chitto, Loyd Star, West Lincoln and Enterprise were selected to Mississippi’s list of Heisman Scholarship winners. Last week, Brookhaven and Brookhaven Academy shared posts on social media congratulating students who had been selected as winners for the scholarship.

Enterprise’s Allayna Barnett and Elian Ixcajoc-Sales were chosen as a school winners as was Loyd Star’s Abby Burnette. Bogue Chitto’s Addy Cupit is a school winner and so is Alaina Mathis of West Lincoln.

Eligibility for the scholarship begins with maintaining a weighted GPA of 3.0 (B average) or better. Applicants also need to be proven leaders and role models within their school and community. And applicants must participate or have participated in grades 9, 10, or 11 in at least one of the sports recognized by the International Olympic Committee in the Summer and Winter Olympic Games, the Paralympic Games or the National Federation of State High School Associations.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox