USDA designates 82 counties as major disaster areas

Published 4:00 pm Wednesday, April 3, 2024

WASHINGTON D.C. — Secretary Thomas J. Vilsack designated Lincoln County and the other 81 Mississippi counties who suffered losses caused by Drought (Fast Track), beginning on December 1, 2023, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans. The news was announced Wednesday in a press release. 

Farmers qualifying for emergency loans may borrow up to 100 percent of their actual production loss or the amount needed to restore their operation to its pre-disaster condition, whichever is less, or refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. 

Producers in the contiguous counties of Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Tennessee are also eligible to apply for emergency loans. The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is November 25, 2024. 

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at

How did the drought effect your farm or timber production? Share your story by emailing