• 50°

Perkins tops offense; McComb’s Jackson MVP All-Division 6-4A

Nose guard/fullback Thomas Jackson of McComb has been selectedMost Valuable Player on the 2000 All-Division 6-4A Football Team.Jackson, a 5-foot-7, 195-pound senior, starred on offense anddefense, leading the Tigers to the Class 4A state championship.

Brookhaven quarterback Fred Perkins was named Most ValuableOffensive Player in a vote of division coaches. Perkins (6-2, 210,sr.) led the Panthers to a 7-3 record and a runners-up finish inthe division race.

Perkins, converted from wide receiver to quarterback duringpreseason practice, rushed for 822 yards this year. He scored 16touchdowns and threw 1 TD pass. Also working at free safety in thestate playoff game against Gautier, he collected 16 tackles.

Also representing Brookhaven on the first team are linebackerRon Mackabee, defensive end Don Expose, defensive back ThomasBarlow, running back Cornelius Allen and offensive linemen RandyJackson, Kern Hoff and Rayshaun Autman. Allen, Hoff and Autman arejuniors.

Defensive back Carlus Weathersby of McComb and linebacker BobbyKendrick of Terry were named Co-Most Valuable Defensive Players onthe dream team.

Lee Bramlett of McComb was named Division Coach of the Yearafter directing the Tigers to a 13-1 record and a 14-0 statechampionship victory over Clarksdale last Saturday night. Bramlett,58, is in his 36th year of coaching and his 10th as head coach atMcComb.

All-Division 6-4A Football Team

McComb: NG/FB Thomas Jackson (5-7, 195, sr.), DB CarlusWeathersby (6-0, 185, sr.), DB Keith Sibley (5-10, 185, sr.), DBCharles Pittman (5-9, 175, sr.), DB Tim Chester (5-10, 175, sr.),QB Damien Givens (6-2, 175, sr.), TE Gary Turner (5-10, 185, sr.),OL Curtis May (6-2, 254, sr.), OL Broderick Deer (56-0, 270, sr.).Honorable mention: Mark Sandifer, Jamie Jordan, Kareem Coleman,George Lewis, Craig Nunnery, Eltrio Spears, Kelly Ott, BrandonFoxworth, Danny Smith.

Brookhaven: QB Fred Perkins (6-2, 210, sr.), DB Thomas Barlow(5-8, 142, sr.), RB Cornelius Allen (5-8, 180, jr.), LB RonMackabee (5-9, 165, sr.), OL Randy Jackson (6-2, 232, sr.), OL KernHoff (6-2, 230, jr.), OL Rayshaun Autman (6-5, 276, jr.), DE DonExpose (6-2, 215, sr.). Honorable mention: Tarik Williams, JoshAnderson, Perry Brumfield, Raphael Smith, Maurice Suggs, StephenLloyd.

Lawrence County: QB Jerry Smith (5-7, 190, sr.), RB JonathanEley (6-2, 205, jr.), TE Justin Wilson (6-1, 220, sr.), OL MikeSmith (5-10, 220, sr.), LB Todd Johnson (6-2, 185, sr.), RB JeremyGraves (5-7, 175, sr.). Honorable mention: Joey Foster, Melvin May,Jason Snell, Roderick Randolph, Charles Barnes, Wayne Hardy,Charlie Welch, Mathew Autman, Jamar Sibley.

South Pike: OL Cornelius Stallings (6-4, 310, sr.), RB JohnLowery (6-0, 220, jr.), DT Joe Barnes (6-1, 235, sr.), DB PatrickAndrews (5-10, 155, sr.), LB Reginald Lumpkin (5-11, 180, sr.).

Honorable mention: Joshua Stewart, Reginald Green, TerryDickerson, Jerrell McGhee, Duriel Davis, Gerald Jackson.

Terry: LB/RB Bobby Kendrick (5-10, 235, sr.), OL/DE Josh Hobock(6-0, 210, sr.), RB Lorenzo Wesley (5-6, 165, sr.), TE/DE ChrisSnell (6-0, 185, sr.). Honorable mention: Fred Bracey, Jamie Mack,Matt Bailey, Toronto Knight, Belvie Mack, Josh Sheppard.

Crystal Springs: TB/LB Lonnie Roberson (5-11, 185, sr.), QB/DBJason Osborne (5-11, 170, sr.), WB/DB Marcus Monger (5-8, 160,sr.). Honorable mention: James Roberson, Edward Frazier, AntarreoKendrick, Kenny Powell, Nathaniel Adams.

Most Valuable Player: Thomas Jackson, McComb.

Most Valuable Offensive Player: Fred Perkins, Brookhaven.

Co-Most Valuable Defensive Players: Carlus Weathersby, McComb;Bobby Kendrick, Terry.