DSU Ladies win GSC

Published 5:00 am Monday, March 10, 2008

SOUTHAVEN — The top ranked Delta State University women’sbasketball team (29-0) earned their third-straight and fourteenthoverall Gulf South Conference title with an 80-61 victory overArkansas Tech University (25-5) at the Desoto Civic Center. Thecrowd inside the arena received their money’s worth, as the twosquads battled for the sixth time in the GSC title game. Sunday’svictory gives the Lady Statesmen a perfect 6-0 record against theGolden Suns in the GSC title game.

Delta State’s Jennifer Rushing was also named the tournament’sMost Outstanding Player for a second consecutive year.

“I couldn’t be prouder of my ladies,” stated an excited headcoach Sandra Rushing. “It always feels good to win, but I don’thave the words to describe how happy I am about winning the titlethree straight years. The victory is great, but I am glad it’s notover. There is a lot of basketball left to play!”

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Lakira Boyd led the Lady Statesmen in scoring with 15 points andsix rebounds in the first half. Brittani Calhoun added nine points.Jennifer Rushing also had nine on 3-of-4 shooting from behind thearch. Arkansas Tech was guided by Amanda Grappe with a phenomenal25 points and five rebounds.

Boyd’s 24 points and eight rebounds led the Lady Statesmen,while Brittani Calhoun chipped in 18 points and cleared eightboards. Rushing, the GSC West Player of the Year, turned in adouble-double with 11 points and 10 assists. She also recordedthree steals.

Grappe lead all scorers with a game-high 36 points and sevenrebounds.

Delta State shot 57-percent from the floor on 31-of-54 shooting,and a blistering 57-percent from behind the arch on 8-of-14attempts. The Lady Statesmen also out-rebounded the Golden Suns36-to-28 and set a season high with 22 team assists. DSU alsooutscored ATU 44-28 in the paint and 15-4 on second chancepoints.

The GSC also announced its All-Tournament team. Members includedArkansas-Monticello forward Erika DuBose, Arkansas Tech forwardsAmanda Grappe and Kirshna Baker, and Delta State forwards LakiraBoyd and Brittani Calhoun.

The Lady Statesmen will return to the court on Friday, March 14,at the NCAA Division II South Region Tournament. The site for thetournament has yet to be determined, but all indications point toDSU hosting the eight team, four-day tournament at Walter SillersColiseum.