59 Bulldogs named to academic honor roll

Published 8:59 am Thursday, June 30, 2016

STARKVILLE — A total of 59 Mississippi State student-athletes were named to the 2016 Spring Southeastern Conference Academic Honor Roll, the league office announced Wednesday.

The 59 Bulldogs span eight sports (baseball, men’s golf, women’s golf, softball, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track and field and women’s track and field) and are part of a total 1,240 student-athletes across the 14 SEC schools that were named to the honor roll.

Softball led all MSU programs with 12 student-athletes named to the list and a team grade point average of 3.3, while baseball and women’s track and field tied for second with 11. Men’s track and field had nine named to the honor roll, while men’s golf tallied six.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Women’s golf and women’s tennis each placed four on the list, with men’s tennis rounding out the list with two.

On May 18, men’s tennis junior Rishab Agarwal was honored as the Elite 90 Academic Award recipient for the 2016 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships.The award is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at the finals site of each the NCAA’s 90 championships.

A total of 33 student-athletes were pegged as Top Dawgs for posting a 4.0 GPA for the 2016 Spring semester and five of those graduated in the spring with a 4.0 cumulative GPA (Logan Chaney, Cornelia Griesche, Madison Milhoan, Sydney Rodkey and student-assistant coach Naomi Tran).

The 2016 Spring SEC Academic Honor Roll is based on grades from the 2015 Summer, 2015 Fall and 2016 Spring terms.

Each student-athlete must 1) have a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution; 2) be on scholarship or a letter winner; 3) have completed 24 semester hours of non-remedial credit at the nominating institution; and 4) have been a member of the varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.

The 2015-16 First-Year SEC Academic Honor Roll will be announced today.