BHS cheer, football teams receive awards

Published 6:33 pm Tuesday, January 22, 2019

The 2018 Brookhaven High cheer team and football team were recently honored at the school’s annual post-season banquet.

Cheer award recipients included Destiny Johnson (Scholastic Award), Lauren Smith (Best All Around), Jayla Banks (Most Versatile), JaLiyah Miller (Most Entergetic), Alexis Legget (Most Dependable) and Elizabeth Hutson (Most Improved).

Football award recipients included Wesley Calcote (Defensive Back Award), Sevante Quinn (Stan Patrick Boom Award), Coker Wright (Defensive Lineman Award) and D.J. Durr (Scholastic Award); back row, from left: Calvin Byrd (Offensive Lineman Award), John Hilbert (Offensive Back Award), Byrion Robinson (Special Teams Award), Jariq Motley (Most Improved Award) and Don Blandon (Panther Award). Calcote and Durr were also given the Therrell-Tanner Award. Calcote, Quinn, Wright and Hilbert were honored as team captains.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox