Region 7-2A football postseason honors announced; WAC’s Sims named MVP

Published 9:22 pm Friday, December 6, 2019

The postseason awards for Region 7-2A football — selected by the coaches from schools in the division — were announced this week and Wesson junior wide receiver Antrelle Sims was named Region Most Valuable Player. Wesson senior linebacker Scott Hutt was named Most Valuable Defensive Player and the Cobra coaches were named Coaching Staff of the Year.

West Lincoln Senior running back Michael Brothern was voted Most Valuable Offensive Player. Enterprise junior Chase White was named Most Valuable Lineman and sophomore kicker Carson Price of Bogue Chitto was named Special Teams MVP.

Will Loy, Orlando Smith, Chris Davis, Ethan Ainsworth Justin Beal, Collin McGowen, Damien Smith and Terrance Haley all were First Team All-Region selections from Wesson.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Second Team All-Region selections from Wesson were Trey Cunningham, Tye Coleman, Gideon Forrest and C.J. Sutton.

Owen Anderson, Shaw King, Reid Smith, Davis Hart, J.T. McCaffrey, David “Mac” McKinney, Zach Upkins and Colton Bales made up the First Team All-Region picks from Bogue Chitto.

Eli Cupit, Jermarco Walker and Tristan Buffington were the Bobcats picked for the Second Team All-Region.

First Team All-Region selections from West Lincoln included Enrico Pirce, Grant Jackson, Jackson Taylor, Tate Smith, Dylan Dickerson and Chris Freeman.

West Lincoln Bears named Second Team All-Region included Travis Hall and Logan Smith.

Stephen Mills and Bailey Calcote were the Loyd Star Hornets named to the First Team All-Region.

J.T. Smith, Peyton Morse, Brantley Walker and Lezeric Brothern were the Hornets picked Second Team All-Region.

Enterprise saw Josh Richardson and Dylan Vaughn named First Team All-Region.

Brodie Harris, Colby Beard, Jordan Stephens and Lawson Chemin were named Second Team All-Region from EAC.