City will see a ‘new’ board of aldermen

Published 5:00 pm Friday, April 9, 2021

No matter how you look at it, the Brookhaven Board of Aldermen will look different come July.

Longtime Alderwoman at Large Karen Sullivan and Ward 1 Alderman Dorsey Cameron have announced their retirements. Ward 3 Alderwoman Mary Wilson and Ward 4 Alderman Jason Snider chose not to run for another term.

After winning a challenge in the Democratic primary, Ward 2 Alderman Shannon Moore will retain his seat for another four years. Without a challenger, Ward 5 Alderman Fletcher Grice will do the same.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Ward 6 Alderwoman Shelley Harrigill is running for a second term on the board as an independent, bypassing the primary to go straight to the General Election June 8. Harrigill faces Andre’ D. Spiller in that contest, so the Ward 6 seat may keep a familiar face or see a new one in its place.

That leaves four seats to be filled by new personalities on the city’s board.

Wards 1 and 3 are Democratic contests and Ward 4 is strictly a Republican one.

In Ward 1, James Magee Jr. and Jason Dixon were the two that emerged from the field of four to advance to the runoff election April 27. In Ward 3, Charles J. Caston Sr. and Roy L. Smith advanced to the runoff from a field of five contenders.

The at-large seat is the only two-party election for the board — considering Harrigill’s independent status does not qualify as a political party — with Democrat Marilyn Dow-Harris facing off against Republican Don Underwood in the General Election.

No matter who is elected to serve the citizens of Brookhaven, we at The Daily Leader wish them well and success in their positions, and we promise to keep the public informed of the work of their elected municipal representatives.