6 area students win Promote the Vote awards

Published 4:15 pm Sunday, April 3, 2022

Six students from Lincoln County won awards in the 2021 Promote the Vote program. Secretary of State Michael Watson honored K-12 students and teachers during a special awards ceremony at the Two Mississippi Museums Thursday. The event marked the conclusion of the 2021 Promote the Vote program, a longstanding voter education effort consisting of mock elections, contests, and elections curriculum. The 2021 “Vote Local” theme encouraged students to learn about Mississippi’s municipal elections process.

“Typically, our youth only hear about voting around the time of statewide or presidential elections, so it was important for us to shine a light on the local races which have as much, if not more, of an impact on their lives,” said Watson. “Whether it was through writing or illustration, our Promote the Vote winners successfully showcased their knowledge of local offices and the importance of civic engagement.”

More than 31,000 students participated in the 2021 Promote the Vote program.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Area winners were:

Third-Fifth grade Cartoon Contest

First place, Amelia Laird, Enterprise Attendance Center

Third place, Emmalyn Bridge, Lipsey Middle School

Fourth-Eighth grade Digital Art Contest

First place, Anna Reid Whittington, Alexander Junior High School

Third place, Coleman Knott, Alexander Junior High School

Honorable Mention, Karr Wolfe, Alexander Junior High School

11th-12th grade Essay Contest

Honorable Mention, Ella Haynes Kimbrell of Lincoln County, Parklane Academy