Go Vote! Today is Primary Election Day

Published 10:00 am Tuesday, June 7, 2022

Today is Primary Election Day in Mississippi.

Polling places opened at 7 a.m. and will remain open until 7 p.m. for registered voters to cast ballots for candidates for U.S. Congress.


What’s on the ballot?

In Lincoln County and the rest of Congressional District 3, only three names will be on the ballot. Republican incumbent Michael Guest will face challengers in Michael Cassidy and Thomas Griffin. A runoff will take place June 28 between the top two vote-getters if one of the three does not get at least 50 percent of the vote pus one on June 7.

The winner of the primary will advance to the General Election Nov. 8, where he will face Democratic contender Shuwaski A. Young. No Democratic primary will take place in District 3, since Young is the only candidate for his party.


November General Election

Also up for election in November in Lincoln County is the seat for District 2 Election Commissioner. Former commissioner Tiffany Furr resigned in April, and the Lincoln County Board of Supervisors set a special election to coincide with the November General Election.

Anyone interested in running for the post should gather at least 50 signatures of registered voters within District 2, and submit them to the Circuit Clerk’s Office so they can be certified prior to 5 p.m. on Sept. 9. The election will be for a one-year term, since the positions for Districts 2 and 4 will be on the 2023 ballot for their regular terms of office.

Other offices up for election in 2022 include:

  • The Mississippi Supreme Court, Court of Appeals Judge, for an 8-year term — incumbent Virginia Carlton faces Bruce W. Burton
  • Lincoln County Chancery Court Judge Joseph Durr is unopposed
  • Lincoln County Circuit Court Judges Michael Taylor and David Strong Jr. are unopposed
  • Brookhaven School Board Trustee-elect — 5-year term; qualifying period is Aug. 10-Sept. 9
  • Lincoln County School Board District 5 member — 6-year term; paperwork must be submitted by Sept. 9

Voters unsure of their precinct polling place location can call the Circuit Clerk’s Office at 601-835-3435. Precinct lists and a sample ballot are available at www.dailyleader.com.