General Election is Tuesday — Saturday is final day to absentee vote

Published 10:34 am Friday, November 4, 2022

Tuesday is the November General Election, and Saturday, Nov. 5 is the final day to vote absentee.

Any qualified voter who will be out of the county or unable to vote in person on Nov. 8 can vote absentee. The office of Circuit Clerk Dustin Bairfield will be open 8 a.m. until noon Saturday.

Tuesday, Nov. 8, is General Election/Special Election Day. Polling places will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. Lincoln County has 30 polling precincts. A map of precincts is available online at Any voter who is unsure where to vote should contact Circuit Clerk Bairfield’s office at 601-835-3435.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox


On the ballot

Eight offices will be on the Lincoln County ballot. Six feature unopposed candidates. These include: Brookhaven School District Board of Trustees incumbent member Erin W. Smith; Lincoln County School Board District 5 newcomer Joe Portrey; Lincoln County Chancery Court incumbent Judge Joseph Durr; and 14th Judicial District Circuit Court incumbent judges Michael Taylor and David Strong Jr.

In the single Special Election category, incumbent County Election Commissioner District 2 Janice Hart Haley is running unopposed for a one-year term.

The two offices that are contested are for U.S. House of Representatives Third Congressional District, and Mississippi Court of Appeals District 4 Position 1.

First-term incumbent Congressman Michael Guest (R-Miss.) will face a challenger in Democrat hopeful Shuwaski Young.

Two-term incumbent Judge Virginia Carlton seeks to keep her Court of Appeals bench, facing Jackson attorney challenger Bruce W. Burton.

There will be no runoff elections.

Click here for a sample ballot.