General Election results: Rep. Guest, Judge Carlton re-elected

Published 9:01 am Wednesday, November 9, 2022

In Lincoln County, the results of Tuesday’s General Election helped a U.S. Congressman and a Mississippi Court of Appeals Judge keep their seats.

By 9 p.m., all 30 precincts in the county had finished reporting to the office of Circuit Clerk Dustin Bairfield.

U.S. House of Representatives 3rd Congressional District incumbent Michael Guest (R), received 77.5 percent of the vote in Lincoln County, and 71.1 percent of the vote district-wide. The first-term Congressman will keep his position for another four years. Unofficial results for Lincoln County had 6,861 votes for Guest, 1,976 for Democrat challenger Shuwaski A. Young, and 13 write-ins.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Mississippi Supreme Court, Court of Appeals Judge Virginia Carlton — the non-partisan incumbent for District 4, Position 1 — will begin her third eight-year term after defeating challenger Bruce W. Burton. Unofficial results in Lincoln County showed 4,188 votes for Carlton, 3,815 for Burton, and 54 write-in votes.

All results will remain unofficial until certified by the Office of the Secretary of State. As of the close of Tuesday’s election, 29 ballots remained in the mail for the county, with a receipt deadline of five days after the election. No matter their votes, they will not be enough to change the results. Of 21,353 eligible voters in the county, 8,888 submitted ballots. The 41.58 percent turnout is higher than in other recent elections.

In uncontested elections in Lincoln County, results were as follows:

  • Lincoln County Chancery Court Judge Joseph Durr — 7,842 votes; 86 write-ins; 4-year term.
  • 14th Judicial District Circuit Court Judge Michael Taylor — 7,787 votes; 78 write-ins; 4-year term.
  • 14th Judicial District Circuit Court Judge David Strong — 7,845 votes; 72 write-ins; 4-year term.
  • Lincoln County Election Commissioner District 2 Janice Hart Haley — 1,300 votes; 15 write-ins; 1-year term.
  • Brookhaven Separate School District Trustee Erin W. Smith — 3,749 votes; 55 write-ins; 5-year term.
  • Lincoln County School District School Board Educational District 5 member Joe Portrey — 800 votes; 7 write-ins; 6-year term.

All unopposed candidates were incumbents, except for Portrey.


For a breakdown of votes by precinct, click here.