Two dozen have qualified so far for 2023 Lincoln County elections

Published 4:07 pm Thursday, January 5, 2023

The first day of qualifying for 2023 elections in Mississippi was Tuesday, Jan. 3. In Lincoln County, 21 people paid their $100 fee and submitted at least 50 names of qualified voters showing their support. Since then, a few others have joined the races.

Chancery Clerk Alisha McGehee and Circuit Clerk Dustin R. Bairfield both qualified for the offices they already occupy. McGehee is completing her first term as Chancery Clerk, after the retirement of Tillman Bishop. Bairfield has served as Circuit Clerk since he was elected in 2012, replacing four-term incumbent Terry Lynn Watkins.

Lavon Boyd has qualified to keep the Constable 2 post he’s served in since 1997. On Wednesday, Lincoln County Sheriff’s Deputy Wade Hinshaw also qualified.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Justin Case and Lance Lewis “Jr.” have both qualified to run for Constable Post 1. Current Post 1 Constable Kelly Porter will not run for re-election, as he has tossed his hat in the ring for the office of Lincoln County Sheriff. Porter was elected to the Constable post in 2007.

Judge Ian Smith and Judge Roger Martin have each qualified to remain as Justice Court judges, Posts 1 and 2, respectively.

Sheriff Steve Rushing announced Tuesday morning his intention to run for re-election, and qualified. Kelly Porter and Troy Floyd have entered the race against the four-term-plus incumbent.

Tax Assessor/Collector Blake Pickering has qualified to run for re-election in his department.

County Coroner Clay McMorris has announced his retirement, having served four full terms and one partial in the office. Blake William Wallace, James D. Martin and Joseph Honea III have each qualified for the position.

All of the above candidates registered as Republicans.

Lincoln County Supervisors Jerry L. Wilson (District 1) and Jerry McGehee (District 2) are both running for re-election. A five-term supervisor, Wilson is running as a Democrat. Republican McGehee hopes to gain a second term.

District 3 Supervisor Nolan Earl Williamson is retiring after more than 20 years in the office. John David Hart has qualified as a Republican for the board seat. On Wednesday, Ricky W. Nations and Brooks Warren also joined the race as Republicans.

District 4 Supervisor Eddie Brown has also announced his retirement after 16 years in the role. Republican Eli Ferguson has qualified to run for the position.

District 5 Supervisor Doug Falvey, the incumbent, is running for re-election. He has two challengers in the Republican primary so far — Grady Case and Mark David Porter.

No one qualified on Day 1 for Election Commissioner District 2 or District 4. No one has qualified for County Surveyor, either.