This is the final day to qualify for 2023 elections

Published 8:00 am Wednesday, February 1, 2023

Today is the final day to qualify for the 2023 elections in Lincoln County. The office of Circuit Clerk Dustin Bairfield will accept paperwork until 5 p.m. today, Wednesday, Feb. 1.

As of 1 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 31, 41 total candidates had tossed their hats in the ring.

The following have qualified to run for Lincoln County offices:

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

• Sheriff — Incumbent Steve Rushing (R), Kelly Porter (R), Troy Floyd (R), Willie J. “Meeka” Gayten Sr. (Independent), Henry G. “Bub” Simmons Jr. (Independent), Leslie Falvey (Independent)

• Chancery Clerk — Incumbent Alisha McGehee (R)

• Circuit Clerk — Incumbent Dustin Bairfield (R)

• Tax Assessor/Collector — Incumbent Blake Pickering (R)

• Coroner — Blake William Wallace (R), James D. Martin (R), Joseph “Little Joe” Honea III (R), Sherry Bowman Bessonette (R)

• Surveyor — Incumbent Joe W. Byrd (R)

• Supervisor District 1 — Incumbent Jerry L. Wilson (D), Donnie “Speedy” Hedgepeth (R)

• Supervisor District 2 — Incumbent Jerry McGehee (R), Virgil E. Stewart (R), Keith Lewis (R)

• Supervisor District 3 — John David Hart (R), Brooks Warren (R), Ricky Wayne Nations (R), Jason McDonald (Ind.)

• Supervisor District 4 — Eli Ferguson (R), Todd Bowlin (R), Cory Wallace (R), Calvin Kees (R)

• Supervisor District 5 — Incumbent Doug Falvey (R), Grady Case (R), Mark David Porter (R)

• Justice Court Judge Post 1 — Incumbent Ian Smith (R), Shelley H. Barron (R)

• Justice Court Judge Post 2 — Incumbent Roger Martin (R), Shane Banks (D)

• Constable Post 1 — Lance Lewis Jr. (R), Justin Case (R)

• Constable Post 2 — Incumbent W. Lavon Boyd (R), Wade Hinshaw (R), Kirby Ebbers (R)

• Election Commissioner District 2 — Incumbent Janice Hart Haley (R)

• Election Commissioner District 4 — Incumbent Denise White (R)

The first day of qualifying for 2023 elections in Mississippi was Tuesday, Jan. 3. Qualifying ends Feb. 1 at 5 p.m.

The Primary Election is Tuesday, Aug. 8, 2023. If needed, a run-off will be three weeks later, on Aug. 29. The General Election will take place Tuesday, Nov. 7. A run-off, if needed, will be three weeks later, on Nov. 28.

County offices on the ballot are: sheriff; chancery clerk; circuit clerk; tax assessor/collector; coroner; surveyor; supervisors for all five districts; Justice Court judges, posts 1 and 2; constables, posts 1 and 2; and election commissioners for Districts 2 and 4.

State offices on the ballot include governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, attorney general, state auditor, treasurer, insurance and ag/commerce commissioners, transportation commissioners, public service district commissioners, state representatives for Districts 53 and 92, state senator for District 39; and District Attorney District 14.

Each candidate must be a resident of the county and district for which they are running for at least two years by Nov. 6, 2023. All county offices or county district offices have a fee of $100 per party or independent, and must include signatures from 50 active voters in that district. Election commissioners have no fee, but must provide the 50 active voter signatures.